OG’s Top 10 Favorite Yuri Anime of 2023

This year we are doing things a little different. To commemorate the excellent year that I dubbed 20-Gay-Three (thanks to my dear friends for helping suggest it) I will dedicate three posts to show viewers how great it was from my perspective starting with this one. While I was not able to consume all Yuri media that aired or became available in 2023 I will do my best to show how just how much there was and why this was a glorious year for fans of the genre.

Most of the Top 10s of mine are usually Yuri themed anyway. This year I decided to make it a point to only pick anime strongly featuring or centered around ladies attracted to or falling in love with each other. As always these are my personal favorite anime that aired, not the be all end all of the year.

Minor spoilers ahead.

Honorable mentions:

  • Ayakashi Triangle
  • Mou Ippon!
  • Nijiyon
  • Alice Gear Aegis Expansion
  • D4DJ All Mix
  • Otaku Elf
  • Tokyo Mew Mew New
  • Yohane the Parhelion: Sunshine in the Mirror
  • Let Me Check the Walkthrough First (It got a JP dub this year so close enough)
  • The Idolm@ster Cinderella Girls U149

SHY Cover

A special mention goes to SHY.

It would have made the Top 10 had it ended in 2023 but similar to another anime coming up only the 1st cour aired that year. Hopefully the 2nd cour is planned for sometime in 2024. I will go into more detail in the future G-View but SHY being a hidden gem is a shame. It deserves many more eyes on it. I at least have the excuse of thinking it would be yet another dark or edgy “superhero deconstruction” show but instead it is more Pretty Cure for teenagers with a dash of Kingdom Hearts minus the boatload of complexity. More importantly the main pair are off to a great start. Excited for the 2nd cour when it airs.

Now we begin the list proper.

World Dai Star#10: World Dai Star

Speaking of hidden gems, here we have another one. We have had several stage girl anime air over the years, each having their own unique trait. For WDS it is stage girls with superpowers. Besides the relationships of the cute and sexy ladies who were paired up classic Love Live! style (Gen 1 and Gen 2 I mean) the performances themselves were some of the best I have seen in the genre, specifically those where our heroines were at the top of their games. The mascot I could have lived without though. Contributed nothing.

Uma Musume Season 3#9: Uma Musume Pretty Derby Season 3

As far as seasons go this is my 2nd favorite in the series with Season 2 being the best. “Black Diamond” are my 2nd favorite main couple of the series. The side-horses are my 2nd favorite, the set of races are my 2nd favorite and this season solidified Uma Musume as my all-time favorite sports anime series. That being said, I like another sports anime more this year than Uma Musume S3.

I'm In Love With the Villainess Cover#8: I’m in Love With The Villainess

One of the most anticipated adaptations among Yuridom and even esteemed Yuri mangaka/novelists when it was announced and indeed it was a most enjoyable experience. Our heroines’ dynamic was a classic but had enough to stand out as a special couple to be. The rest of the cast were delightful too and there was a very memorable scene alongside some cool and fun moments. The thing is, this was clearly only the beginning of something greater, hence why I called it a pretty good start in my G-View. Hopefully it can break the dreaded sequel curse that has plagued Yuri adaptations for far too long. Definitely needs it. Then again the same can be said for 95% of Yuri anime adaptations but this one clearly called for one at the end.

Yuri is My Job Cover#7: Yuri is My Job!

Another anime that could use a second season. Do not worry. This will be the last time I bring this up in this list. So, Yuri is My Job! I expected a romantic comedy set in a cosplay cafe. While we got some chuckles, what we actually got was some fascinating lesbian drama that explored the hardships born from a simple misunderstanding to the struggles of young love…or lust. Some ladies went from annoying to understandable while others piqued my curiosity to no end. I had to know how deep the rabbit hole went and I was pleasantly surprised with most of the outcomes.

Gundam Witch from Mercury#6: Mobile Suit Gundam: The Witch From Mercury

Speaking of fascinating Yuri drama, the story of Suletta Mercury and Miorine Rembran’s relationship. The ups and downs these two went through, mainstream chef’s kiss material right there. Clearly I too was hooked and hoped for the best. Did they find their happiness in the infamously merciless Gundam universe? I leave that to the intrigued to see for themselves. Oh, right. The other stuff. The cast were hit and miss though it features my “Antagonist of the Year” in a certain masked woman, the setting token military drama that was also hit and miss and the Mobile Suit battles were neat. I came and stayed for dem gays is what I am saying, main and side-couples. Major shoutout to their CULTURED fanart by the way. Absolutely magical. Lastly because I cannot help myself, “Up to interpretation” MY ASS! SUCK IT YOU OLD FARTS AND INVESTOR BUTT LICKERS!

Ahem. My apologies. Where was I? Ah yes.

Top 5 time.

OniMai Cover#5: OniMai! I’m Now Your Sister!

Kicking off the big ones with the controversial pick. Naturally viewers who can get over the setup may find what I consider one of the sweetest Girls’ Club shows I had ever seen, topped only by one. Yes the first two episodes did not impress me but for some reason after Kaede’s debut in Episode 3 things just kept getting better and better. Even a running gag I did not much care for was suddenly funny the third time. I am not saying Kaede was the reason but she certainly was the catalyst for change. What I am saying is this is one of those stories where the protagonist thought they were one but in actuality may have been destined to become another all along. At least that is the message I got from the season. Regardless lots of cuteness, fun times and of course precious gayness awaited. The Christmas episode featured one of the most precious moments I had ever seen. I cannot praise this show enough. My surprise hit of the year.

Vexations of a Shut-in Vampire Princess#4: The Vexations of a Shut-in Vampire Princess

While not the first Yuri harem in a long time it was the first one in a while that openly marketed itself as such (thank you HiDive). In that respect it delivered and then some with a protagonist worthy of the love and desire of many gorgeous well-endowed beauties craving the “once in a lifetime” petite beauty. The harem candidates were all most excellent too. While every arc had a set pattern they were different enough to stand on their own and the show was surprisingly more impactful than I thought. I expected a romantic comedy and got an interesting setup with some kick ass action. Lastly the Yuri was wonderful PG-13 goodness. There are lesbian vampires. Nuff said.

Birdie Wing 2nd Cover#3: Birdie Wing -Golf Girls’ Story-

Time for my overall #2 women’s sports anime of all time, heck #2 sports anime, period. Who knew a show that was part crime drama, sports tournament, shonen insanity and telenovela could create a mad concoction where it all not only made sense but delivered one of the most gloriously epic non-mainstream sports stories I had ever seen. Add multiple gorgeous women of various ethnicities and ages rivaled only by Gundam Witch in its sex appeal representation. Crazy special moves and abilities, presentation and an OP so good it was used in both the first and second half of the show. All of this topped off with two great leading ladies. Eve, a sexy beast extraordinaire, the embodiment of a shonen protagonist AND a chick magnet. Aoi, the definition of a “just because I am bubbly and energetic does not mean I am dumb” beauty. Last but not least the best sports rivals in love I had seen. While the epilogue could have been better everything else was magnificent. An anime for the ages.

Stardust Telepath#2: Stardust Telepath

This anime healed my soul during a time I felt consumed by rage. I came in expecting another delightful Girls’ Club anime. What I got was one of the best series in this Slice of Life subgenre. All the main and side-girls were precious. Our main quartet each had compelling stories to tell. Two got more attention but when it was the other two’s time to shine they took full advantage of the opportunity. The model rocket stuff was pretty cool too but the highlight were of course the ladies’ journeys, especially the main duo’s. While one of them remained a mystery by the end of the season she was still part of numerous incredible moments, ESPECIALLY with her adorably shy soulmate who melted my heart every time she was on screen. The closer they became, the harder my heart beat and the crazier I got rooting for their love. To say it was hard to keep my voice down would be an understatement. This show was so good I personally cannot see myself continuing the story in comic form. I NEED more animated in the future. Sorry. I had to let in one more cry for a sequel.

Viewers who remember how crazy I reacted to this next show weekly, the one show that could possibly rival Stardust’s power will not be surprised which anime is my #1.

Magical Revolution Cover#1: The Magical Revolution of the Reincarnated Princess and the Genius Young Lady

My love for this show is pretty simple really. The main heroines’ romance was my absolute favorite Yuri journey of the year. The side-couple checked so many boxes in what I crave from lesbian media. The “wingwoman” of the group is one of the best “lesbian’s bestie” in existence and second most beautiful on the show. The action and drama were pretty cool with an antagonist I needed to see crushed for their heinous crime against all things good in this existence. Back to our main heroines, their journeys of self-discovery, self-acceptance, true love and especially the end result was the one I enjoyed the most all year. This show had everything I wanted.

There you have it ladies and gentlemen.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in OG's Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to OG’s Top 10 Favorite Yuri Anime of 2023

  1. Kuudere-Kun says:

    The way my mind is ranking these shows right now probably still has a bit of recency bias to it, Though I wonder if sometimes other people have the opposite problem and are too hesitant to rank what they just finished too highly.

    However you rank them 2023 gave a handful of awesome and important new Yuri and something to celebrate.

    Maybe it’s be good to start looking back and ranking shows from years that are having notable annviersies this year, 2014 and 2004 were both arguably pretty big years for Yuri.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your list is nicely aligned with mine for the ones I’ve actually watched thus far. No doubt the top 3 are perfect! My personal 4th would probably be G-Witch and 5th would be Shy. It’s truly a shame that Shy went under the radar, but I hope the 2nd cour will attract more viewers and allow it to get the recognition it deserves then!

    It’s absolutely true that 2023 was a massively big year for Yuri and I’m not sure when we’ll be fortunate enough to have a big one again, so I’m thankful for what we got. So many strong contenders of a wide variety, I’d find it hard to believe that every single Yuri fan couldn’t find at least one anime they loved this year. It was just so good!

    We’ll see what 2024 has in store for us, but I don’t think there’s much to be hyped about just yet. However I am, as always, hoping that will change. We shall see.

    Liked by 4 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Very nice picks for 4 and 5.

      SHY deserves more love. Hope it gets it before the 2nd cour airs.

      Let us cherish the excellent year that was 2023!

      On paper 2024 doesn’t look as strong but we may be surprised. Let’s hope for the best.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Little Viktoria says:

    Such a lovely year for yuri. My top would be similar:

    The Magical Revolution of the Reincarnated Princess and the Genius Young Lady
    2-3. shared between Stardust Telepath and World Dai Star
    The Vexations of a Shut-in Vampire Princess

    And a bonus prize for Kouryaku Wanted!: Isekai Sukuimasu for the silliness ^^

    Liked by 3 people

  4. ineedyuri says:

    Interesting list.
    I tried my best to get into Magical Revolution, it even has everything I want in a yuri anime. I just found it boring. Maybe if I finish the LN, but I found it hard to read.

    Vexation Vampire is my favourite Light Novel series. And anime only viewers are missing out on a lot of cut content.
    Komari is also the GOAT. Komarin! Komarin!

    I read Yuri is my job manga twice and didn’t enjoy either reads, but the anime made it finally clicked with me. These people are awful, but strangely relatable with how they can never show their true feelings without getting hurt.

    But I think Witch from Mercury deserves my Yuri Anime of the Year.
    It turned me into a Gundam fan. Negative points for introducing me to Gunpla.

    Like

  5. yurimylove says:

    I totally agree that The Magical Revolution is the undisputed #1 yuri anime of 2023. It delivered the rare unicorn of yuri kiss between the main couple. Not CPR, not “drunken on chocolate antics”, not “power-up”, “memory recall”, or “medicine feeding”. A genuine, honest to goodness yuri kiss of passion. As good as a year 2023 was for yuri, there’s precisely one anime that delivered this.

    The last time we saw such unicorns was 5 years ago, when Bloom into You and Citrus delivered. I apologize if I forgot any such anime in between, but it couldn’t have been many for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ioni says:

    G-witch was a series of many first for Gundam:
    – First female MC
    – First official LGBT couple
    And
    – First married couple

    Yes, some MC were married on sequel mangas but never on an animated series or movies.

    Like

  7. Pingback: OG’s 20-Gay-Three Anime Highlights | The Yuri Empire

  8. Nick says:

    Apparently I didn’t comment on this????

    While I only watched 7 of the top 10 listed, they were 7 excellent shows. I think I’d probably rank them just about the same, maybe a few changes here and there, but overall similar results from me. Great to see SHY get a nod as well, that turned out to be a great show. Looking forward to S2 of this in the future!

    Over all it was a great year for yuri anime and I’m sure 2024 will continue that trend as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment