486th G-View: World Dai Star

We had crazy stage girl duels, Tokusatsu/Power Ranger stage girls, stage girls sharing the spotlight with boys and even sci-fi stage girl idols. This time we have stage girls with superpowers. Question as always is whether it is worth watching. Let us find out as we take a look at World Dai Star.

World Dai Star

Full Title: Stella of the Theatre: World Dai Star

Genres: Comedy, Drama, Supernatural, Theatre, Yuri.

Themes: Stage Girls, Superpowers.

Number of Episodes: 12

G-Rating: 8/10

Plot Summary: After Dai Star stage performers gifted with special powers known as “Sense” exploded in worldwide popularity in the 20th century, 16-year-old Kokona Ōtori follows her dream of becoming a World Dai Star by auditioning for the Sirius theatrical troupe.

Kokona and Shizuka's possible futureThe show is exactly what one would expect from a stage girls anime. Group of girls from different backgrounds come together to compete for the main roles in performances while also getting to know each other and becoming friends or more over time. Standard setup and narrative for veterans of the genre so there is not much to add. The dramatic developments and personalities of each character are fun to explore as they open up more to their peers and viewers. Besides the aforementioned superpowers, Sense, each actress has such as mind reading, superhuman reflexes and time stop among other powers specifically made to enhance performances and the viewing experience of the audience, there is one surprise revealed early on that plays a very important role throughout the course of the story. This combination of cute and sexy girls with familiar but fun personalities, their Senses, interactions and relationships along with the developing mystery are what draw viewers in.

Kokona going all out as AladdinWhat keeps viewers hooked though are the anticipated performances themselves. I cannot put it into words but the combination of the excellent voice work by the seiyu, the extra impressive animation especially reserved for performances, the musical numbers, the extra detail, the retelling of familiar stories, the extra spice added and much more make all those featured on the show worth the buildup each one gets. Even the overused one with the initials R&J wowed me and I am normally annoyed it keeps getting brought up in these shows. Basically the presentation, especially during performances, is top notch.

Kokona and Shizuka hold handsThe yuri is a hotpot of goodness. Main pair, love triangle, destined pair, childhood pair, magical pair etc. Expect magic on and off stage. Let us just put it that way. The ending had me laughing with glee for reasons viewers will have to see for themselves. It is something else I tell you. I only have one itsy-bitsy nitpick with it but again viewers will have to see themselves to find out if they can spot the source of the nitpick.

Overall World Dai Star is a straightforward stage girls anime that will feel familiar to fans of the subgenre but has enough to stand on its own alongside others of its ilk. The superpowers are cool. The cast of cuties and hotties fun to watch (some after defrosting). The presentation is at its peak during performances and said performances that add twists to familiar classics are some of the best I have seen in the genre. The yuri is a wonderful mix of many things fans love about the genre on and off the stage. Lastly the main mystery is pretty neat to see develop. Definitely recommended to open-minded stage girl fans.

If only it were more popular we would not have to depend on the mobile game it promoted to enjoy more of these lovely ladies.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in G-Views and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 486th G-View: World Dai Star

  1. This was a very unexpected stage girls anime for me. I thought I’d seen it all at this point and that nothing would mystify me more than RevStar, but I was pleasantly surprised. It’s of course not at the caliber of such a masterpiece, but I found aspects reminiscent of it, mainly in the supernatural sense and childhood promises.

    The concept of ‘senses’ was very interesting and what I’d say is the biggest thing that sets it apart and gives it an edge to be unique. Then add in the super diverse cast of characters, talented Seiyuu and brilliant performances and animations, and you kind of have a small hit.

    It wasn’t perfect, but it had it’s moments to shine, especially with certain pairings and such. I agree with your feelings in that regard. That final performance they had blew me away though.

    Not expecting it, but if we were to get a S2, I’d definitely tune in.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Gandalf says:

    I share most of your thoughts! However, in the last ep, i couldn’t keep myself from comparing the performance with Andrew Lloyd Weber’s awarded musical kkkkk a little disappointed because of that…. Pretty good anime though!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Rika says:

    Really wish more people had watched this show, that finale makes it totally worth it, the yuri was a cherry on top, the play itself was somehow better than the plays at the end of kinmoza S1 and wataten.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. cirno9fan says:

    I am so very glad they saved Phantom for the finale ❤ It was pulled off amazingly well, and Kokona did exactly what was needed to really elevate the Phantom role. Whlie when you think about the actual story of the Phantom, it’s more creeper than “romantic”, as the phantom basically groomed Christine since she was a child (there is a huge age gap), but Sirius’ rendition made me root for the pairing just a bit. I did always think the Phantom was a fascinating role, I just thought that Christine was a very poor choice for hte Phantom.

    Sadly, they did it, and went and had Yae play Christine. It does lose points for that, but thankfully they did a really fantastic job around. It was surely a performance to be remembered~

    Throughout, as you said, the performances were a sight to behold. They did a great job of allocating budget to show off what was the main course! I still think Kathrina was given a pretty short end of the stick though 😦 Not just with Phantom, but how she never got more than a supporting role ever since the Bamboo Princess. A tsundere Christine could have been a really different sort of experience, and probably would have gotten better songs. They were still a bit too pop for me. That final song was perfect though~

    The Shizuka thing was handled pretty well. Still feel like there’s a whole lot to be explained, but I didn’t expect it to all be taken care of in a single cour. I wonder what sort of “sense” the obvious mobage ad girls shown at the final episode will have? It’d be nice if this gets another season, but unless the mobage ends up being a real runaway hit, it probably won’t happen.

    All in all, a wonderful and fantastic watch, and one of the very few shows I’m watching that I felt had a strong finale

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      I had a gut feeling you destroyed your room or wherever you watched the finale after Kathrina wasn’t chosen to play Christine.

      Would love more of this series in anime form.

      Like

  5. LuzeP says:

    I initialy watched the show with low expectation. There’s not so much exposition during the premiere so I keep watching because I got curious. There’s so much question here and there. And oh boy it turned out to be one of my favorite show. The animation is so good, so smooth especially the facial expression. I didn’t know they can make it so life like. I love all the songs and the voice acting is top notch.

    The yuri is strong in this one. Like you said it has everything yuri. The last episode was a bonus but I always felt like this show can go far in term of gayness. Also love me some hot mom. She’s so spicy. If there’s a season 2 I would be ecstatic. Give the German girl some chu! Anyways, I think this is my favorite stage girl anime now.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Absolutely. The twist at the end of the premiere was what kept me going and in the end everything else the show had to offer floored me.

      That finale was one for the record books.

      Birdie Wing spoiled me on gorgeous older women but can’t deny Theresa’s one hot mama.

      Absolutely. Kathrina deserves a chu.

      It’s one of my favorites in the genre too.

      Like

  6. Kotori_Sonoda says:

    This show had such a great first episode that it hooked me right in, and I ended up really enjoying the show.
    the cast is memorable and I really enjoyed the yuri! The show is so full of it.
    the special care put into the animatoin during performances was also such a highlight for me, such that it really brings you into the action and makes you feel like its real – much like what the in universe audience is feeling during the performance.
    Funny enough this was probably the most exposure I had to Phantom of the opera. The final episode performance was really special.
    Also yay they brought Shizuka back!

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      A most excellent stage girl show indeed.

      I admit to not having seen other versions of Phanton in their entirety before this one. It too was most excellent.

      So glad she’s revived sooner! Would have been a lame hook for the game to see if Kokona eventually brought her back. I wanted her back sooner and I was elated to see it happen.

      Like

  7. chikorita157 says:

    The show did surprise me and it’s not too surprising to be impressed by Kokona and her seiyuu Iwami Manaka, who is well also voices Tamaki Ui (Iroha’s little sister), Rice Shower, and Euphie. Still impressed how Kokona grew from beginning a beginner to almost being on top, of course with of Shizuka. It’s a pretty good underdog story as she has to compete with other girls with better senses.

    Still, the pairings are nice of course, along with that love triangle Kokona has. Of course, I wish there is more intimate moments with Kokona and Kathrina, although it’s obvious that Shizuka will have the upper hand for obvious reasons. But either way, its a nice stage girl anime.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. yurimylove says:

    enjoyable anime with a happy ending 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment