OG’s Short Summer 2023 Picks

“Hey OG! You usually announce your new anime season picks around Week 8 or 9. Why did you take so long this season?” You’ll see.

Source 1

Source 2

Yohane of the Parhelion Cover

Yohane The Parhelion ~ Sunshine in the Mirror: No surprise my most anticipated show of the season is the Love Live Sunshine spinoff anime starring Yohane. Dunno if it’ll strictly be a musical fantasy or if there will be cool battles against monsters but because there will be a 2D action game coming after the anime is finished and the first episode hinted at a looming darkness I imagine there may be. I’m just happy to see another Aqours anime.

BanG Dream! MyGO!!!!!BanG Dream! It’s MyGO!!!!!: A new show in the franchise starring a new band. Whether the others make cameos or not I don’t know. Honestly I’d rather the show focus on the new babes and not Poppin’ Party or Roselia for the umpteenth time.

Atelier Ryza 2 Main Cast

If they push Ryza X Klaudia or perhaps Lila in the anime then I may consider covering the show here. There’s only so much milage I can get from worshiping Ryza’s thighs weekly.

There’s the Love Live! Nijigasaki and Azur Lane Specials but they’re short or only one episode so not much to say besides an AL Quickie or a look at the NijiGaku special. Speaking of NijiGaku they’re getting a three-part movie sequel. It’s better than six parts so the wait won’t be as long. Looking at you PriPri and GaruPan

Oh right. There’s also the 2-Part Sailor Moon Cosmos movies covering the “StarS” Saga which I heard interesting things about. Hopefully they get subbed soon. The new Hibike Euphonium movie subs will surely take a while. Not expecting much though. Just give me more of my destined pair and I’m good.

Ayakashi Triangle ProtagonistsAyakashi Triangle will resume this Summer. Had a hard time watching this the first time because the original broadcast was censored. I don’t do censored. If they air an uncensored simulcast and depending on how the show ends I might write a Yuri Quickie.

That’s it.

I’ll watch the Rurunou Kenshin Remake at my leisure. The rest of the season will be spent on my anime and games backlog.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in OG's Lists and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to OG’s Short Summer 2023 Picks

  1. Red says:

    Yeah, super dry season.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nick says:

    Very quiet season for sure. I’ve only got 3 shows on my list this time, but that means I finally have time for my Netflix and Prime Video backlog.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Yeah, even the regular anime season is dry for me tbh, so the Yuri is definitely bare bones. Yohane is a definite watch, and that’s about it for seasonals. I’m hoping the Sailor Cosmos movies and Hibike movie won’t take years to be subbed, and once they are I’ll be watching. So it’ll be a great season for me to catch up on my backlog as well.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. cirno9fan says:

    Bang Dream! IT’s MyGO!!!
    Ryza
    Reincarnated as a vending machine (Super unlikley to get through this, but giving it a try out of total curiosity (I’ve read nothing about it, seen nothing about it))
    Genjitsu no Yohane: Sunshine in the Mirror
    Dark Gathering (though I’m not sure I’ll last if it’s just a lot of gore and not really horror. Can’t really tell from the PV I watched)

    My list is pretty dead too. Ryza the game’s story was not the best. But if they take the anime as an opportunity to REALLY push RyzaxClaudia, then I’ll be okay. I will also lose interest if they YET AGAIN push Poppin Party and Roselia to the forefront. So I might end up going down to one show before the season is over ._.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. AntoLV91 says:

    Y que hay de la segunda temporada del donghua “feng ling yu xiu”

    Like

  6. Mauron says:

    Yohane: I’ll descend with her.
    MyGo: Checking out Bang Dream season 23.

    Ryza: I’m planning to catch up the games prior to watching the anime… recently finished the Dusk trilogy, so it will be a while.

    I’ll probably continue Ayakashi Triangle, but MC is still very much a guy despite the current body. This is one of those “other shows” for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. CJ Apple says:

    As expected, the summer season is very clear.

    Yohane and Bang Dream are must watch and/but as for Ryza, I will wait for the review.

    The only other anime I will watch is “The Duke of Death and His Maid S2” where S1 even had some yuri, because his sister felt very attracted to Alice and this will hopefully continue in S2.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. chikorita157 says:

    I agree, this season is terrible. Seriously, the Love Live Sunshine spinoff and Bang Dream are the only viable shows (besides Ryza) this season, this is ridiculous

    I’m covering my backlog, but I see on Crunchyroll that the Yuru Camp, Wataten, and Revue Starlight movies are available, maybe you should review those when you have the chance. There is a list of shows I listen in my preview

    Hope we can survive the 90 days of this lackluster season, the Fall season should deem this disappointment of a season.

    (also need time to prepare for the JLPT, that is if I can get a spot too)

    Liked by 2 people

  9. yurimylove says:

    in addition to Yohane and Bang Dream, I’ll be watching Aikatsu on Parade, and rewatch some old favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: 5 Favorite Anime Blog Posts from 2023 Week 26 - Crow's World of Anime

  11. Pingback: Yohane the Parhelion: Sunshine in the Mirror Spoiler-Filled Review - Pop Culture Maniacs

  12. Pingback: Yohane the Parhelion: Sunshine in the Mirror Spoiler-Filled Review – Burkely Hermann's Official Website

Leave a comment