487th G-View: Mobile Suit Gundam: The Witch From Mercury

Important Note: This review is written by a Yuri fan who has little knowledge or interest in the Gundam franchise, only picking the show up because of the premise and main protagonists. Do not expect deep or intricate discussions on the Mobile Suits and the tropes featured in this entry of the legendary franchise. Reader discretion, especially of diehard Gundam fans, is advised. For everyone else, I will do my best to give this show a satisfactory review.

My first exposure to the Gundam franchise was Gundam Wing back when it aired on Cartoon Network. Without going into great detail I simply watched it because it was what was airing at the time. I was drawn in but not because a strong emotional investment rather intrigue on how the story would continue and end. Fast forward to 2023 and the show we are about to discuss was the 2nd one I had watched but not because of the franchise legacy. It starred two lovely ladies who were shown to have a strong bond based on promotional art and teasers. Basically I smelled Yuri and, as usual, that was what got my attention. Question is whether the show was worth sticking around till the very end. Let us find out as we take a look at Mobile Suit Gundam: The Witch From Mercury.

Gundam Witch from Mercury

Alternate Title: Kidou Senshi Gundam: Suisei no Majo (Japanese)

Genres: Action, Drama, Mecha, Romance, Sci-fi, Yuri

Theme: Aristocracy, Conspiracy, Discrimination, Military, Politics, Prejudice, Real Robot, School, Space, War

Objectionable Content: Significant. (When the show gets brutal, it gets really brutal)

Number of Episodes: 25 (Episode 0 Prologue and 24 TV episodes)

G-Rating: 9/10

Plot Summary: A.S. (Ad Stella) 122― An era when a multitude of corporations have entered space and built a huge economic system. A lone girl from the remote planet Mercury transfers to the Asticassia School of Technology, run by the Beneritt Group which dominates the mobile suit industry. Her name is Suletta Mercury. With a scarlet light burning in her pure heart, this girl walks step by step through a new world.

Aerial vs PharactLet us begin with the themes of the show. To me it felt like a standard military drama. Not saying it as a bad thing but because I had many war stories fought over reasons like discrimination (in this case the people of space looking down on the people of Earth), multiple factions with their own agenda, lots of twists and turns revolving around motives, relationships and whose side everyone is on (even among the hero team), the horrors of war, justified antagonists etc. Familiar stuff but I admit all were presented well with very few punches pulled or to be precise as far as PG-13 violence could go. Even the super insane surprises were vintage sci-fi in the best way. The cast of characters have their own journeys complete with highs and lows, most of which intriguing though for some characters my mind was not changed on their appeal. If I did not like them at the start I did not like them by the end. A select few characters I did not like at first changed my mind over time but at best most of my disliked got an indifferent reaction from me at the end of their tales.

A certain character I desperately wanted to like took their sweet time to become relevant and live up to my expectations. Longtime fans of mine can guess who it is. I am very glad they did.

Prospera hints at her master planLady Prospera. Favorite antagonist of 2022-2023. First half aired in 2022.

Suletta vs Guel RematchAs for the Gundam battles, they were pretty good. That is all I can say. I expected the fights to rock because this show is from the undisputed king of giant robot franchises so they were expected to deliver. That they did. Not much I can say about the Mobile Suits. They were neat. What I can say a little more about is the presentation. Cool and wacky character designs of various body shapes, sizes and ages. It had even more than its fellow Bandai-Namco published show Birdie Wing but I argue the gay golfers show had a sexier cast of beauties than the gay mech pilots show. Despite that both have a great cast of babes. Longtime fans should know I tend to judge animation on its cast of ladies. The aforementioned battles were obviously visual spectacles. Definitely worth watching again on Blu-Ray. The soundtrack has some banger OPs, EDs and especially Suletta’s battle theme that is like Quiet’s (Metal Gear Solid 5) theme but cranked up to 11 and more badass than seductive.

Miorine squishing Suletta's cheeksNow for what everyone came here for. I got the other stuff out of the way early so I could focus on what drew me to this show. Suletta Mercury and Miorine Rembran’s relationship. The show is pretty much split in two halves. The first is what could I only best describe as “Mecha Utena” as in Revolutionary Girl Utena. Without going into specifics the setup is similar. A warrior maiden is wrangled into a situation where they must repeatedly duel against opponents wanting to take away her prize, the “princess” hand in marriage. Speaking of I enjoyed how nonchalantly they were like “Yeah. Same-sex relationships are no big deal in this day and age”. That is how SuleMio started from an amusing encounter between a meek tanuki and a tsundere fox-cockatoo hybrid.

Bonus points for interracial yuri!

The other reason I started the review with the setting was because what mattered to me was how everything happening around them affected their relationship and character development. The same goes for how their personal and relationship growth had a strong impact on the world narrative and people around them, both Face and Heel. What fascinated me most about their relationship was how their respective upbringings affected their interactions, from how they showed affection, the difficulty in showing said affection, how they understand/perceive the world and people around them, their hopes and dreams, (To be precise how they set goals for themselves and each other) and knowledge on life. Their upbringing also brings to the front one of the strongest themes of the show for most of the important characters, parent issues. Classic case of “I know what’s best because I’m older” or “What do you know? You’re just a kid who should do as they’re told” and of course “You better succeed or you’re worthless to me”. Parent of the year material right there. That being said believe me when I say it goes beyond that for each daughter or son. Essays can be written about the inter- and intrapersonal relationships on this show besides that of our heroines. Probably not to the extent of say, She-Ra and the Princesses of Power, but certainly has plenty of depth, potentially requiring multiple viewings to fully grasp.

Jelly Miorine AgainBesides developments we see before our eyes there are also extra Easter Eggs or tidbits littered throughout the show from the position of trinkets, character actions (such as the way Suletta touches her fingers when feeling a certain way), facial expressions, loads of symbolic signs and gestures, Shakespearean influences, a certain other Yuri show besides Utena that strongly inspired our heroines’ relationship, tie-in one shot stories and much more to enhance the viewing experience for the observant. Even the OPs and EDs had additional details each time they played. Once again to spot them all and understand their meaning multiple viewings may be required (or having paid attention on social media). However, that is the key of a good show, meaning they are not required to understand what is going on. Viewers who miss out on the Easter Eggs and symbolism the first time will still be able to follow along with the story and SuleMio goodness thanks to the story mostly being easy to follow, crazy twists and all.

Suletta sad without MiorineThen we have the second part of the show. The “It’s Gundam” phase, as in “it’s time for things to get super serious and dark and we don’t know if our heroines will make it to the end because the war is ramping up and all Hell breaks lose” phase. SuleMio and especially fans are put to the test time and again not knowing if all will be well. Not telling by the way. When I say dark, I mean “War is Hell” dark. Viewers can guess how tough things get for our heroines and their wonderful friends.

Earth House stands up to bulliesNika rewards ChuchuMy second favorite beauty on the show to the right, Lilique. Love her very much.

Speaking their friends, Chuchu, Nika, Lilique and the other homies the two eventually join are wonderful people once they lighten up and accept them into the crew. Cool bros and brahs for the most part, again with their own stories to tell be they short or lengthy.

Nika moving Chuchu's hairBy the way, ChuChu, aka Magical Cotton Candy Pompom Head, is boss (best side-character) and NikaChu are 4 Life.

4. LIFE!

Suletta and Miorine riding homeBest way to describe the appeal of SuleMio’s romance besides the shy girl x tsundere dynamic is a mix of Birdie Wing’s charisma, fun and sexiness of Birdie Wing along with the fascinating drama of Yuri is My Job!, meaning two lovely and excellent ladies Yuri fans experience their high and low points hoping they find their much deserved happy ending. I cannot put into words why their relationship is one of the most captivating I have seen. It must be seen to be believed. Will it captivate every fan? Probably not but it is one absolutely worth experiencing from start to finish. Cannot say if it ends well. Just be prepared for a very bumpy and emotionally fulfilling ride. How fulfilling I leave that to viewers to find out.

Hint 1: According to Yuri fans who like Gundam the show went a bit further than usual for romance in Gundam standards. It is as subtle as an angry rhinoceros in a library.

Hint 2: Our heroines took Utenaology and Lukeism as additional courses but their main teachers were far more powerful and put a huge smile on my face knowing such a prolific writer was inspired by one of my all time favorite Yuri love stories.

Overall Mobile Suit Gundam: The Witch From Mercury is in my Top 3 Yuri Mecha shows I have seen next to Rinne no Lagrange and GRANBELM. It is also one of my favorite anime of 2023 (It started in 2022 it ended in 2023 so it counts as a ’23 show). Although the main draw for me was Suletta X Miorine’s excellent love story the “Gundam-ness” of the show was admittedly pretty good too. Many of the cast I enjoyed, some I was indifferent to and the hateful did a good job being detestable. The Gundam battles I enjoyed. The animation and music are pretty cool. There are lots of Easter Eggs and extra details hidden in many nooks and crannies that although spotting them is not necessary to enjoy the show they help enhance the narrative. Not sure who to recommend it to other than readers who found what I said intriguing.

PS: Besides story enhancing tidbits being observant rewards viewers with extra Yuri goodness that makes sense to viewers who paid attention.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in G-Views and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 487th G-View: Mobile Suit Gundam: The Witch From Mercury

  1. This show is one that requires a deep dive and thorough discussion to analyze, and I think you’ve done a fantastic job! This was my first exposure to a Gundam series, and I too was drawn in by the Yuri, but man did it keep me hyped with everything else too. It was honestly the show I most looked forward to seeing a new episode most for each season it was airing and it certainly one of my favorites for the year. I was surprised that most characters had insane development, to the point even ones I despised early on, turned out to be likeable to some degree. Even a certain ‘Diq’.

    As for SuleMio, nothing I say will really show how amazing they are and how much I’ve come to love them. They have officially become one of my most favorite Yuri couples ever of modern anime, behind only one pair I’m sure you can guess. The development they had throughout the entirety of this series was phenomenal, and while it had its ups and downs, it lead to the most satisfying conclusion I’ve ever seen for a mainstream, typically Shonen, mecha-focused anime and one of the only of its type to feature an openly Sapphic couple.

    Not to mention they are also great representations of diversity, inclusion, disability and even some lightly implied Neurodivergent rep. SuleMio also goes beyond the romance standards for typical Gundam romances as I’ve heard, so they are representing in so many ways, and setting the blueprint for not just future Gundams, but for all Yuri/wlw content we get in the future. It was such an experience to see them grow and become something of icons each week. I think SuleMio will be the talk of the anime scene for a while yet.

    Overall, G-Witch will always be one of my favorite mecha anime ever, competing only with Eighty-Six 86 at this point, and certainly number one for Yuri. I know we all were hoping for one final cherry on top, but they still did a brilliant job. I do have some mild hope that we’ll be blessed with either an OVA, or some official artwork at the least to scratch that itch. I don’t think there will be another season in full, but I’d be totally down for a short series or even spin-off with more of a SoL themes, so we can see more domestic SuleMio and the gang. In any case, I enjoyed this series so much!

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Same reaction for most of the show. Yeah, “Diq” was kinda alright in his last few scenes.

      SuleMio’s love story is magnificent and historic in the mainstream shonen mecha genre for sure. They accomplished a lot and checked many boxes.

      I suppose mainstream yuri fans will fawn over them up till ChisaTaki’s triumphant return.

      Absolutely need an OVA or something similar to include the missing ingredients. Slim hope for it but we can dream.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Somebody says:

    So do they end up together or is this another Gridman?

    Liked by 2 people

    • k1ll1ngz0ne says:

      No way. You’re telling me that in a story made by never-been-touched-by-women, wish-fulfillment-obsessed losers, that they ignored RikkAkane, the couple with actual meat to their relationship, in favor of pairing Rikka with themselve… I mean, with their self-inse… I mean, with their author avat… I mean, with Yuuta, a boy she has ZERO chemistry with, because they’re never-been-touched-by-women, wish-fulfillment-obsessed losers?

      Like

  3. Kotori_Sonoda says:

    The last Gundam TV show with “real” mecha elements was 2015’s Iron blooded orphans. Ever since then, we’ve gotten more toyetic series (which I did liked, mind you), so this being a return to real robots really hyped me.
    Add Yuri? Even better!
    Really enjoyed the entirety of Gwitch. Mecha design is great, since Bandai took care to differentiate the various companies/houses. Action is also fantastic. Its Gundam after all!
    I also liked the characters a lot. So many stand out characters like Prospera Mercury and Guel Jeturk, not mention our main characters Suletta and Miorine!
    That said I felt the ending was rushed, maybe if they gave it like one more episode, eh.
    Also they tried to end this decisively with the dissolution of the beneritt group and the destruction of all the remaining Gundams as well as Quiet Zero, Which felt odd to me I was so sure Bandai was gonna milk this series. who knows maybe they’ll pull something out in the future, but for now they seem to want to start promoting their next Gundam projects like the Gundam SEED film. Of course seeing a happy Sulemio ending did put a smile on my face so I liked it still! If this really is the end at least our couple lived together happily.

    Also as an aside Granbelm is indeed awesome and I need to properly rewatch Rinne no lagrange at one point….

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Although I couldn’t keep up with your references or merch tracking your input as a Gundam connoisseur was appreciated. Dunno if we’ll do this again anytime soon but should another Gundam yuri show or a SuleMio OVA pop up we may be back at it.

      Twas a wonderful viewing experience for sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. cirno9fan says:

    I’ve seen iirc 3 gundams, but I can only remember seeing two, so I’ll say two for now: Ye olde Hero and co Gundam that put gundam on the map for the US (I know it was around before, but that was definitely the one that people talked about), and G Gundam. Here come the Spoilers
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    I came into this with much much apprehension. I knew, if they were going to actually end with SuleMio they’d go all the way by the end. But I never quite felt like that was truly the end game until part 2. But then it was a matter of, “are they going to kill off someone?”. The fact that they killed off Sophie still hurts some, but at least she got to be with Norea in the end. Plenty of time in data storm afterlife to stake her claim as Norea’s #1. Live a good long life ElanTwo, give sophie all the time!

    Suletta and Mio were quite the experience. I still don’t feel the love for the Izetta finale as most here do, but I definitely feel the love for how this ended. I don’t know what makes it different. Maybe myself is what makes it different? I don’t know. It’s been too long to even remember what happened back then. What’s important is that this was a wonderful and very painful journey that ended in the best possible outcome considering everything: Gund Arm clearly took off, Suletta finally got to make her school, and Miorine is with someone who truly cares for her ❤ Whatshisname was way too conniving and selfish. Guel was just a puppet groom. Prospera did a lot of terrible things, but I am glad that Suletta gets to be with her. I still am not really a fan of her, but for Suletta’s sake, it’s good.

    Nice surpriseish yuri pairing at the end! Feels like one more was hidden in there, and we also got reconfirmation of the prologue yuri pairing in the data storm. While I definitely felt they’d go all in on SuleMio, I did not realize they’d go all in on the yuri by the end o_o But nice surprises are nice~

    I can’t say I was “looking forward” to episodes every week, I honestly was dreading them sometimes, and with good reason (I seriously was emotionally crippled on more than one account after watching an episode…), but I didn’t stop, and kept on moving forward. And I don’t regret it one bit! As I’ve already said on Twitter: This is my new favorite gundam. Really wonderful showing from Sunrise. I figure, even if this show ends up doing really well for driving merch sales, the next gundam will probably be back to a more “het experience”. But we’ll see more like this in the future, I do believe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      No surprise. Extra drama tends to bring couples closer together in these kinds of stories.

      Easy. Because they showed more in SuleMio’s epilogue than FiZetta’s. That’s why.

      The bonus couples were a much welcome surprise indeed.

      Until we get another Yuri Gundam I’m back to my absence from the franchise. I am in no hurry for the next one but will surely watch if another pops up.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. opaco1234 says:

    Aah, the serie make the last 9 months so good, even in a middle of a crisis, SuleMio become so important and now enter to the list of the biggest yuri couples of the history and change Gundam for long

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tbiscut74 says:

    Yeah this series is great! Though at the moment I am only watching the English Dub so I only have about 3 more episodes to go. Though I couldn’t help myself and read how it ends just to make sure it had a happy ending! Which I’m very glad it did!

    My history with Gundam is that before this show I’ve only watched 2, G Gundam and Iron Blood Orphans. With IBO I only watched it because they were showing it on Tonami. As for G Gundam I watched that back when they were showing it on the old school Tonami and talk endlessly with one of my best friends about it at school. Back then we only talked about 2 things back then, Dragon Ball Z and G Gundam. Thinking back on those days is always brings back good memories. It had one of my first ever anime crushes , Allenby Beardsley. And my favorite Gundam, The Master Gundam. So it will always have a special place in my heart and will always be my favorite Gundam series. But Witch from Mercury is a VERY close 2nd.

    As for the characters I quite like the vast majority of them. Though I do not care about the 2 Earth Witches. Didn’t particularly like them, so when they died I was like finally. But that’s just me.

    SuleMio was truly fantastic! They were my favorite type of pairing: bubbly girl x tsundere “princess” couple. They remind me heavily of Ruby x Weiss in their dynamic (including their red/white color scheme), along with Diakko, Lumity, and FiZetta.

    So yes a truly wonderful show!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hizura says:

    SuleMio are the heart of Gundam Witch while Prospera is the very soul.

    Big Spoilers Ahead!

    SuleMio went through the greatest development and without them nothing in the show would have worked, they trusted each other despite the issues (which we saw clearly with Shaddiq who didn’t trust or protect Miorine at all which destroyed their relationship completely) and fought for each other in their own ways. Being put in a forced marriage but still trying to work around it. I say their relationship developed completely natural and it was the most beautiful rollercoaster I have ever seen. Not only one of the best Yuri ships but one of my absolute favorite ships of all time.

    Like SuleMio, nothing would have worked without Prospera. Probably my favorite Char clone (okay didn’t see many Gundam shows but still) and one of the best villains. Understandable motive, sad backstory and a really good charismatic personality and another reason the plot went forward so well. Really wish she would have killed Delling tho but I am fine with the way it ended for her, but man she deserves better. Suits perfectly the og story of the Tempest tho!

    Have to be mad about the pacing tho, a few more episodes would have done good bcs there was so much going on and it was rushed at the end but still an absolutely fantastic show I will forever hold dearly in my heart!

    Now WEDDING OVA WHEN

    Liked by 2 people

  8. K says:

    Secelia may not have done much at the start but you can’t say she was a pushover. I don’t think anyone got the last word over her in the throughout this show’s duration.

    To be honest, I did not watch much mainline Gundam series. My experience was mostly with the AU Gundams, as I watched all of them except SEED. I had a good time with them and G-Witch is no exception to that.

    For a Gundam series, G-Witch’s is one of the lighter and softer entries with a satisfying ending, with most of the cast coming out of this in one piece. It felt a bit rushed to me, though.

    The SuleMio ship has sailed. Although our tanuki had to go through immense suffering, she managed to reach that golden end, where Ericht and Prospera didn’t have to die and Miorine is her bride in the truest sense. SuleMio’s story is a grand one in the halls of Yuridom. May these two receive Kumalia-sama’s greatest blessings!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. yurimylove says:

    for me, the most satisfying aspect of the last episode is that it finally shut those anti-yuri whiners up, who for some reason feel the need to reply to every single forum thread rooting for a yuri pairing (e.g. in Lycoris Recoil, BIRDIE WING, The Executioner and Her Way of Life, you name it) with lame, “pretend sensible sounding” rebuttal like “not every female relationship has to be romantic” and such jazz. It’s like, nobody asked for your opinion, loser!

    Liked by 2 people

    • k1ll1ngz0ne says:

      “for some reason”
      Hey, if the girls canonically get together with another girl, that kinda gets in the way of their fanfictio… I mean, shipping of said characters with themselve… I mean, their self-inser, I mean, their author avata… I mean whatever background male character that exists that could make it safe for lose… I mean, enlightened viewer consumption.

      Like come on, theyre starving due to the obvious lack of het romance in anime, have some sympathy man…

      Liked by 1 person

      • k1ll1ngz0ne says:

        with lame, “pretend sensible sounding” rebuttal like “not every female relationship has to be romantic” and such jazz.

        the people who say this also exclusively watch anime with 100% het “romance” that involves all women instantly obsessively in love with them… I mean, their self-inser… I mean, their author avata… I mean plank of woo… I mean “interesting” male protagonist for literally no reason.

        Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      It’s one of many reasons why I left forum and community sites. I got so bored of the denial I was like “I’m sick and tired of you wastes of flesh”.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Robert Blumenberg says:

    With the success of Love Live! Nijigasaki High School Idol Club and Mobile Suit Gundam: The Witch From Mercury , we can look forward to the next LOVE LIVE show being more yuri after the shows Sunshine in the Mirror and Link! Like! Love Live! because LOVE LIVE was originally going to be a full yuri show before the producers got cold feet after the flop of the 1st LOVE LIVE single.

    Like

  11. Aster says:

    I love this anime SO MUCH, the ending was beautiful, though I felt a bit like everything happened too fast and was a bit rushed.
    I adored this anime, I looked forward to each episode, I engaged with the fandom, and it felt amazing to be in contact with other fans like me!!! This is an anime with lots of suffering, but also sweet and beautiful moments, it will forever stay in My heart.
    PS: SULEMIO AND NIKACHU FOR LIFE

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kurona says:

    Why did you give this the low intensity rating? It should be medium or higher given that the relationship is the focal point of the show

    Like

Leave a comment