The 20-Gay-Teen Sequel Hype

Before we get to the meat and potatoes a brief explanation on what “20-Gay-Teen” is. I went into great detail in this reflection post HERE but the gist is in 2018 Yuri fans were treated to a MOUNTAIN LOAD of series featuring or centered around yuri in anime, comics and video games with the cherry on top being the Citrus and Bloom Into You anime. It was also when Western animation caught up with Japan in providing more open yuri content outside of adult shows. Neither that or this post will include live-action yuri as from what I heard they are still struggling, specifically to keep their shows from getting cancelled. Again a topic I do not know enough about but am fully aware of. Moving right along to the topic in question 2023 is shaping up to be the long awaited sequel to the legendary 20-Gay-Teen. It has so much potential I had to come here and show everyone interested how huge it can be.

I say CAN BE because not all these series are confirmed to premiere in 2023 yet. Some of these are based on leaks and unofficial premiere dates. I will be sure to mention which ones are good to go and which have yet to be confirmed. Join me as we take a look at what promises to be the sequel to one of the biggest years in Yuridom. Welcome to the “20-Gay-Teen 2: Electric Boogaloo” hype train! That or “20-20-Gay“.

At some point official release dates will be announced so keep an eye out either here or in future “OG’s Anime Picks” posts. 

https://twitter.com/marumichi/status/1603665073804918786

Special thanks to Marumichi for tweeting this collage.

Let’s start with the “Marvy Six”.

By now most of my longtime followers know I usually go into anime as blind as possible so my hype going into these is based on recommendations from trusted gal pals and cultured peeps.

We kick things off with the Magical Revolution of the Reincarnated Princess and the Genius Young Lady. The gist of the setup is a princess who was reincarnated from a genius mage saw her older brother break up with his now ex-fiancee so she formed a pact with her. This being a fantasy anime expect lots of cool JRPG and medieval stuff with a large dose of gay, from what I gathered.

Winter 2023 premiere.

Next is Yuri is My Job!. It’s about a picture perfect school princess who in actuality is a clumsy cutie. She gets into trouble and has to work at a yuri themed cafe as a result. She is taken aback by her new surroundings and slowly gets sucked in, especially by a fetching tall coworker. Problem is said babe cannot stand the cutie. Sounds like a Yuri Blend S with the themed cafe setting, hiding your true selves at work and crazy shenanigans. Should be very delightful.

Spring 2023 premiere.

Next is Stardust Telepath. The first Girls Club show of the season. I suppose Yuri Job is a GC too but the summary for Telepath fits the category more. It’s also a Manga Time Kirara published series. Nuff said. This one is about a shy girl having little hope of making friends due to stage fright meeting a girl claiming to be an alien who has the ability to understand anyone by connecting foreheads with them. Sold.

No premiere date yet.

These next three shows were/are based on leaks. Normally I would wait for confirmation but just this once I decided to take a leap of faith. Two of them are confirmed anyway.

Next is the big one. The announcement that made Yuridom go bananas. THE MAIN EVENT of 2023 (according to many). I’m In Love With The Villainess. Think “Bakarina” but the main character is Mary (not Maria) and she KNOWS the villainess is the one she wants. No confusion over the other otome love interests. She wants spicy mean ojou-sama flavored taco.

No premiere date yet.

This next one is considered the “raivaru” of Villainess like Bloom Into You was to Citrus in 2018. However, this leak has yet to be confirmed as of this writing so take its inclusion with a grain of salt for now. It’s “Whisper Me/Whispering You a Love Song.” The Japanese name can be roughly translated to both titles but it’s localized as “Whisper Me a Love Song”. This one is about a schoolgirl who is enamored with her senpai who is in a band. One day she outright confesses to Senpai and is surprised to get an “I love you too”. The problem is their loves have different meanings to them. Thus begins their journey to find out what kind of love they have for each other.

 Like I said this one is based on a leak and not yet confirmed.

Next is the third of the leaked anime adaptations though this one has a bit more to it as the mangaka themselves reacted favorably to it. It’s The Vexations of a Shut-In Vampire Princess. This one stars a vampire princess assigned to lead a mighty army who took prisoners and slaughtered them. The problem is our heroine is a classic “no blood drinker” and a hikikomori leading to her being pretty weak compared to her kindred vampires. Fortunately her loyal maid is on the case and willing to do all she can to help her mistress obtain victory.

Not confirmed yet but has a good chance of becoming official.

Now to other shows with good yuri vibes in 2023.

Love Live! Nijigasaki 2 is getting a special set after the end of Season 2. Hopefully it’ll be at least an hour long and the issue of Setsuna’s OG seiyu stepping down due to health concerns is resolved.

No premiere date yet.

Yohane of the Parhelion, aka the Yohane Show. What started as an April Fool’s joke became a reality as fans will be blessed with a future fantasy spinoff starring Aqours. Same idols we love, different world, origin stories and lives.

No premiere date yet.

Young Ladies Don’t Play Fighting Games. A girl transfers to a high class all-girls’ school in hopes of becoming an ojou-sama. One day she meets a young lady she aspires to one day become…until said lady invites her to play a fighting game. Despite being an amateur at fighting games I love the genre and am excited for this one. Plus lesbians playing fighting games warms my heart. The problem is ever since its announcement we have yet to get further news on the anime adaptation. Then again a live-action adaptation was also announced for 2023 so maybe we’re getting that instead.

Birdie Wing and Mobile Suit Gundam: The Witch From Mercury are both scheduled to start their 2nd cour in Spring 2023. Fingers crossed both shows do the right thing.

Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear and 300 Years Killing Slimes are both getting second seasons. The bear suit girl is scheduled to return in Spring 2023. Hopefully the witch and her yuri family aren’t far behind. I need my double dose of fluffy wuffy sugary sweet gayness.

The Wataten Movie premiered in 2022 but as per usual with anime movies English subs are released a year later so there you go.

 

There are other anime I hope to see or are announced in 2023 such as the next Sailor Moon Crystal movie set and “Breasts are my Favorite Things in the World” following Jahy and Mysterious Maid. It getting a show in 20-20-Gay would be very fitting so it better happen…

To their credit the West has some hype animation coming in 2023 too…maybe. First of all is the possible premiere of Season 4 of The Harley Quinn Show. A 40+ minute special is scheduled for Valentine’s Day so fingers crossed for Summer 2023.

For those following The Owl House Part 1 of the three part 3rd season aired last year. Originally planned to be a full on season Disney logic forced the writers to cut it down to three 40+ minute specials aired across different points in time. Parts 2 and 3 are scheduled for 2023 though exact dates have yet to be announced.

Arcane Season 2 is supposedly scheduled for a Post-2022 premiere. Whether that means 2023 is not yet known. Worst case scenario is it’ll come out alongside the Project L fighting game that is progressing at a snail’s pace but for good reason.

That’s what I have on top of my head for now. There are games with yuri coming out too besides Farming Sims and Visual/Kinetic Novels but I’ve made my point. Lots of potential for 2023 to become the 20-Gay-Teen sequel. Let’s hope it comes to pass.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Yuri news/topics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The 20-Gay-Teen Sequel Hype

  1. Mauron says:

    Much hype for Villianess. It’s by far my favorite Villainess series. I will not say why until the show has aired the relevant parts. I mean, besides the obvious that can be gleamed from the trailer.

    We’ve got a lot of absolutely, positively, definitely yuri coming up. Also looking forward to the returning greats.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. tbiscut74 says:

    The ones I’m the most looking forward to are Yuri is My Job, I’m In Love With The Villainess, Love Live! Nijigasaki Special, Yohane of the Parhelion, Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear 2, 300 Years Killing Slimes 2, and the rest of Owl House Season 3.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ineedyuri says:

    You know what they say.
    “Yuri will Conquer the World”.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Alexis says:

    Hello

    Recuerdo esos días oscuros donde no había gran cosa pero ahora estoy feliz por el momento, al final Madokami, Kumalia-sama y María-sama nos da yuri para todo el 2023.

    Esperaba que I favour the villainess tuviera anime pero lo veía muy lejano, ahora que hay hasta teaser estoy muy feliz, me llama la atención la historia de la vampira pero no tengo información.

    Los juegos tienen lo suyo, en D4DJ debutarán Hayate y Kokoa, en Assault Lily habrán nuevas chicas para el juego, Love Live sigue en el aire, no importa si tardan dos años, me gustaría una S3 para las Nijigasakis y en teoría en 2023 van a castear a la última integrante de Liella…

    Todos amamos a Love Live y su glorioso regimen con amor fangirl
    La era del yuri continua
    CYAO

    Like

  5. Zack says:

    *Magical Revolution: I’ve been reading the manga, and I absolutely love this series. Both of the main protagonists are great.

    *Yuri is my Job: I’m not too familiar with this one, but I might check it out and see what I think.

    *Stardust Telepath: another great series. If done well, I can see it being the next Bocchi the Rock.

    *I’m in Love with the Villainess: Probably the anime every Yuri fan is looking forward to. Myself included. Side note: I really hope that the anime doesn’t cut out too much of Rei’s internal monologue since a lot of that is important to understanding her character and her actions.

    *Whisper Me a Love Song: If this indeed getting an anime then I’m pretty happy. This is probably one of the best Yuri manga of recent years.

    *Yohane Show: I’ve got to be honest; out of all the Love Live series, Sunshine was my least favorite. I just didn’t like it as much as the others. That being said, this looks like a fun idea for a spinoff so I might check this one out.

    *Young Ladies Don’t Play Fighting Games: I’ve honestly never heard of this one, but it sounds like it might be fun.

    *Birdie Wing season two: I only recently started watching this series, and I’ve been really enjoying it. Which is surprising because I normally don’t care for sports anime, and I think golf is kind of boring. So anime genre I don’t care for + sport I don’t care for= an anime that I’m absolutely loving so far? I don’t get it, but I’m not going to complain.

    *Witch From Mercury: I’ve been enjoying this series too much to not watch the second cour.

    *Kuma Kuma Bear and 300 Years of Slime Killing second seasons: Both are really fun fantasy slice of life series featuring OP protagonists. So yeah, I’m definitely watching their second seasons when they come out.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      These are the shows on the top of my head. There will surely be more to anticipate as the year progresses provided all of them air in 2023 and none are delayed to the next.

      Like

  6. chikorita157 says:

    Not too surprising to see 2023 become the year of Yuri. It’s nice to see the genre finally getting it’s footing. I do look forward to Tensei Oujo to Tensai Reijou no Mahou Kakumei, I’m in Love with the Villainess, and Yuri is my Job along with others that might air in 2023. But I guess there is a lot to cover, although I should probably watch Witch From Mercury at some point, but I didn’t pick it up since I had too much to cover.

    Also, have you consider moving to Mastodon? Given how unhinged Elon Musk is now banning links to other social networks and banning a lot of people. Who knows until he start banning links to blogs because of his ego. With many Anime Bloggers, including myself leaving, I think Twitter is going the way of Myspace and it doesn’t make sense to promote LGBT content on a platform that promote hate speech.

    If you decide to join, I already have an instance for Anime Bloggers and Anime fans to use and I put in a lot of effort to ease the transition. I think it still worth a look and no pressure.

    Liked by 2 people

    • chikorita157 says:

      While Elon reversed the decision, I still think it’s a good idea to have a presence on the platform as there aren’t many English bloggers who review Yuri anime manga, even if it’s just sharing your blog posts are there are people leaving. It’s just me and OkazuYuri that is on Mastodon.

      Like

    • OG-Man says:

      If all goes accordingly yuri fans will be well fed next year. Oh yes indeed. Since Winter 2023 doesn’t look to be that busy of a season for us you can catch up on the new Gundam to prepare for the 2nd cour.

      To be honest Mastodon is a last resort for me. Maybe I’ll create an account sometime but I’m in no hurry. To me it’s like whenever Twitter goes down it goes down. By then I’ll see which alternative is the safest and least cumbersome.

      Like

  7. yurimylove says:

    more citrus blooming into you the better! hopefully yuri fans will be handsomely rewarded for our patience next year.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Nick says:

    A lot of promising anime to look forward to! I’ve already added a few to my plan to watch list!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Ruby says:

    2018 was so lovely, wasn’t it?
    And now it’s round 2! Whoa, so many promising ones!

    Yuri is my job is super good! Stardust Telepath also seems promising. Guess I’ll add it to my list.

    As for I’m In Love With The Villainess, I did try reading the manga and light novel. I couldn’t get into it. I found the main character annoying and yeah.
    I think I might try again, but I’m more excited for the others on the list anyway.

    I was super surprised to see “Whispering you a love song” on the list. I figured it would get an anime eventually but still a very pleasant surprise, even though this is a leak I bet it’ll be confirmed for real.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Zack says:

    So yet another adaptation of a Yuri manga has been announced. Seiyuu Radio no Uraomote.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Pingback: 2022 Year in Review, Future Plans, and Happy Holidays - Chikorita157's Anime Blog

Leave a comment