OG’s Spring 2023 Anime Picks

It’s that time again. As always picks may change based on story progression and mood.

Picks based on these anime charts:

Chart 1

Chart 2

MUST WATCH

Yuri is My Job Cover

Yuri is My Job: One of the Marvy Six, aka most anticipated Yuri anime of 20-Gay-Three (The 20-Gay-Teen sequel). This one stars Hime, a heroine who earned the admiration of many for her prim and proper manner. One day she slips up but is determined to maintain her pristine image. To do that she joined a pretty much Yuri role play cafe. While working there she meets the top star and starts feeling things. However, things take a crazy turn when the hot babe’s response wasn’t at all what Hime expected. Gay shenanigans to follow.

I thought this was going to be a comedy like Yuru Yuri but it’s actually more of a drama. Noted. Still mega hyped.

Gundam Witch from MercuryBirdie Wing Golf Girls' Story

Gundam: The Witch From Mercury Part 2 and Birdie Wing Part 2: All I want from these two shows is for them to do the right thing by the end. Don’t care how they get there. Just GIVE ME WHAT I WANT! Max Lily Power!

Kizuna no AlleleKizuna no Allele: One would think an idol anime set in Kizuna Ai’s universe would feature the VTuber pioneer (or the most influential) in an important role but instead it stars cuties inspired by her. That’s fine. Maybe she pops up at some point. In any case longtime fans of mine know who I have my eyes on.

World Dai StarWorld Dai Star: Another Stage/Theatre Girls anime. BRING IT!

Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear CoverKuma Kuma Kuma Bear Season 2: Give me more fluffy wuffy soft Yuri goodness and straightforward stories with certain people thinking too hard and ranting about their simplicity. Oh and lots of bears and hopefully more excuses for our heroine to show off her sexy body inside the suit.

In OVAs there will be bonus Nijiyon episodes, an Azur Lane two-part OVA starring Queen Elizabeth and friends, another Neptunia OVA and lastly a three part Uma Musume OVA serving as an appetizer for the highly anticipated third season of the Gay Horsies.

Curiosities

Idolm@ster Cinderella Girls U149The Idolm@ster Cinderella Girls: U149 (Under 149 cm): Pretty much the “Junior Division” of the Cinderella Girls brand. This being an Idolm@ster anime OF COURSE the Producer is male. Just keep the focus on the girls and we’re good. Won’t cover this one weekly but should something noteworthy happen I’ll probably bring it up.

Otaku ElfOtaku Elf: Dunno what to expect from this one. Hardworking miko and an elf goddess who would rather be a shut-in nerd than do godlike stuff.

Alice Gear Aegis Expansion PromoAlice Gear Aegis Expansion: Looks like another 7/10 mecha musume show based on a mobile game. I’m excited to see the main human girl though.

Tokyo Mew Mew New CoverTokyo Mew Mew New Part 2: Similar to Birdie Wing and Gundam Girls I hope this remake does the right thing, as in does THEM justice. Part 1 gave me hope as they’re treating THEIR story well so far. Fingers crossed they don’t disappoint me.

That about does it. There are other shows I’ll check out but those I’ll discuss with my closest homies.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to OG’s Spring 2023 Anime Picks

  1. Kaylee Smerbeck says:

    Oh Yuri is my Job is a drama

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All of your must watches are pretty much all mine too so far. We already know Spring is about to be a Yuri festival, so I’m expecting good things. The curiosities are all intriguing, so we’ll see. Regardless, Spring definitely has a lot of good potential!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Raymond says:

    I’m looking forward to Birdie Wing 2 & Witch From Mercury 2. Also hype for the adaptation of Yuri Is My Job. I’ve got the manga but haven’t got the time to read it yet. Yet to even finish IdolM@ster Cinderella Girls, let alone IdolM@ster. Will take a look at this new addition to the franchise. As for the rest, I’ll see what I can do about finding the right time to watch them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mauron says:

    Returning goodies:
    – Birdie Wing. Let us golf again.
    – Gundam. Return of the fiancees.
    – Bear bear bear bear. Hoping for yuri that isn’t YunaxFina.

    Exploding onto the scene:
    – Konosuba explosion. I will explode with joy watching this.
    – Yuri is my job. For me, yuri is my life.
    – Otaku Elf. This is the life.

    Probably maybe:
    AIdols. I have not really followed that scene.
    Stage: Could be good.
    Idolmaster: Azur Lane Submarines. The franchise is usually too many characters for me.
    Wonderland Gear. Probably wouldn’t be the worst mobile game adaptation I’ve watched.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. yurimylove says:

    Yuri is her job, and yuri is my love 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nick says:

    More or less my list looks similar.

    With so many shows next season I really can’t afford to fall behind.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Haruka Amami and Chihaya Kisaragi , the actresses of those characters are dating in real life.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. chikorita157 says:

    Probably this season will be a busy one, but looking forward to Watashi no Yuri wa Oshigoto Desu, Birdie Wing, Edomae Elf (although I probably won’t cover it),and more as shared in my season preview I posted recently. I guess the other seasons will have a lot more to cover than Winter, which is always seems to be the case.

    Should be a fun season.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Gandalf says:

    Does Konosuba count as a Yuri anime or not?

    Like

Leave a comment