Yuri Quickie: The Lies We All Tell

I was a bit hesitant going into this one but fortunately it ended up being better than expected. It falls under a special kind of comedy type I have a strange fondness of. Let us briefly take a look at The Lies We All Tell.

The Lies We All Tell Cover

Alternate Title: 4-nin wa Sorezore Uso wo Tsuku (Japanese).

The gist is a comedy about four friends in high school hiding a big secret about themselves from each other. One is an alien, one a ninja, one an esper and the last a cross-dresser. Each one has their reasons for keeping their true identity a secret  To get it out of the way yes there is minor drama about the truth being revealed over time but trust me when I say to not expect much from that. The show is meant to be enjoyed for its random nonsense comedy similar to anime like Milky Holmes, Nichijou and Magical Pokahn to name a few. I know the shows mentioned do have an ongoing story but my point is similar to them the comedy in this one is wacky, nonsensical and dumb. As mentioned in the introduction I have a soft spot for nonsensical comedies like this that are well done. For the most part The Lies We All Tell pulls it off nicely. However, to me the last quarter of the show was weak compared to previous three. Not that they are all bad (though Episode 9 was my least favorite) but the last batch of episodes did not bust my gut as much…or maybe it was by design, as in the first 8 being the better episodes.

One thing to keep in mind is certain consequences from a past episode are brought up again later while others are forgotten. Again maybe that’s the point.

To briefly sum up what kind of jokes to expect here is quick rundown of the leads:

-The Alien’s understanding of human culture is limited and she has many ridiculous abilities and gadgets. Do not expect any of them to make sense.

-The Esper can read the minds of all but one of her friends. Other than her reactions to their antics. She has personal insecurities about herself related to her powers, why she keeps them hidden and the many reasons why she does not use her full power.

-The Ninja’s skills are lethal but she hides them behind a ditzy ojou-sama who loves cute things. Remember the last part.

-The Cross-Dresser’s shtick is doing their best to fit in with everyone and repeatedly having their ego crumpled.

Alien X NinjaRemember what I said about Ninja liking cute things? Besides these two there are other instances of Yuri here and there.

Could have been another hidden gem of Fall 2022 but the last quarter was not as good as the previous three. Still an overall pretty good comedy for viewers who enjoy glorious nonsense.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Yuri Quickie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yuri Quickie: The Lies We All Tell

  1. elkat4 says:

    I came to watch a comedy and stayed for a very an unexpected yuri couple. Tsubasa was tolerable, but I will never forgive Hanzo for preventing Chiyo from going on an amusement park date with Rika.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LuzeP says:

    I had a feeling the show is going to have a hard time finding a way how to end this anime. It is supposed to be like the first 8 episodes forever. Like a loop. But Tsubasa has to explain themselves one way or another. Let’s just say I was prepared.

    Thanks to the ending, I now can pretend the last 3 episodes don’t exist. I’m enjoying this show so much. I laughed a lot. My best girl is Chiyo. I like Sekine, Rikka and Tsubasa too. Also the other twin. I don’t like Chiyo’s brother. There are some yuri moments but don’t watch if you only looking for yuri.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jeanettelith says:

    Ugh, watching this anime was my mistake -15/10 >_<

    Like

  4. cirno9fan says:

    Show started off pretty yuri….then just went down down down
    At least Chiyo never once strayed. The only character though. Hanzo was the absolute worst >_<

    But the writer kind of frustrates me too with all that teasing and then you have the second half where Rikka’s all over every guy ever

    If not for Chiyo staying consistent, I probably would have given this show a much much lower score.

    Hanzo can get tossed in a pile of sweaty dogs for ruining that date….

    Like

    • Jeanettelith says:

      Just when the author loses the thread of the story and no longer knows what is writing, i can’t understand, but maybe this is the first author’s job and that’s why it’s just worst nightmare for every “genre-type”-fans. Traps for Yaoi, Het for het, Lesbians for Yuri. No combination of these three genres can exist together and get something good as a result, everyone will be dissatisfied 😦

      Like

    • OG-Man says:

      Hanzo became public enemy #1 for ruining greatness.

      The last quarter was not good, no no no.

      Like

      • cirno9fan says:

        I think the one amazing thing that came out of it is: Chiyo was proven so completely lesbian, that the only chance she had of “mating” with a guy was noncensensually, and even then she just was going to kill him. Haven’t had a method that extreme to show a girl is not interested in guys in the slightest before.

        But everything else…

        Like

      • cirno9fan says:

        Not to mention Rikka could do everything from time travel to reality altering, and never once did it come up that her technology could just be used to make it so Chiyo could have a kid with a girl. Such an opportunity that was completely and totally dodged. Plus, they just kept on giving Chiyo less and less importance and turned her into “that silly ninja girl that’s always fighting for her life instead of getting screentime”, and then pushed more and more scenes with Tsuyoshi and his het harem adventures -_-

        How the show went from that first part to that….authors never cease to amaze me

        Like

  5. Somebody says:

    After reading the comments I am happy I steered clear of this one waiting for such a review. Once I learned there was a boy in the cast I lost all interest. Nothing leaves a worse taste in your mouth then having clearly lesbian characters for 80-90% of a show and then random het at the end. As always I cant thank this site enough for helping me avoid such mental damage. Heres hoping that anime will one day start taking yuri relationships more seriously…I mean its already started but clearly it has not come far enough yet.

    Like

  6. opaco1234 says:

    This was probably how i will prefer the anime Teppen was, adding strong bond between the girls

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment