441st G-View: WIXOSS Diva(A)Live

Let us get this out of the way from the get go. This installment of WIXOSS is overall not a dark/moepocalypse show like its two predecessors (Selector and Lostorage) and tells its own story, meaning it has nothing to do with the prior installments. Instead it remembers the show is about a card game and treats it as such rather than a dark story which so happens to revolve around a card game. Question is whether the change in tone for this (pretty much) spinoff worked or not. Let us find out as we take a look at WIXOSS Diva(A)Live.

Genres: Action, Idols

Theme: Card Game

Number of Episodes: 12

G-Rating: 7/10

Plot Summary: The anime’s story moves the “Wixoss” card game to the online virtual space of “Wixossland” as it continues to grow more popular. The game allows players to become the LRIG avatars themselves. The most popular format in the game is “Diva Battle,” which allows three players to team up to compete against other units for the most “Selector” fans. The main girl is Hirana, who teams up with Akino and Rei on their journey to victory with the main goal to become as renowned as the legendary team, Eternal Girl.

The simplest way to describe the anime is “Idol X Card Game” anime hybrid. Think of an idol anime starring a small group and combine it with something like Yu-Gi-Oh, wherein battles are fought using cards, some details are given on the card effects as the Divas equip gear and power up before clashing in spectacular fashion with their opponents. However, there is one thing Diva(A)Live shares with its predecessors: Do not expect to learn how to play WIXOSS after watching the anime. Say what you like about card game anime but at least viewers have a good idea of how to play the game afterward. Three series in and I still have no idea how to play this card game. This may sound as a critique but it is not. Just something I felt like mentioning.

Basically we have a show about teams of 3 cute and sexy girls dueling each other using cards in a virtual world in front of an online audience. Based on performance, regardless of whether they win or lose they may gain or lose fans which, in theory, affects their performance in the next battle. The girls all have their own inter and intrapersonal struggles to face and overcome. Some are related to friendship, love, clashing egos/beliefs and even passion.

The duels themselves are pretty cool with flashy attacks and cute/sexy power up sequences ending in equally flashy finishing moves called “Piece”, which of course can be blocked with the right cards.

Watching this anime reminded me of Wakaba Girl in terms of Girls Club shows. It followed the basics of what makes idol and card game shows fun to watch for people interested in them but did not do enough to stand out beyond its premise. While it is about cute/sexy girls performing in front of audiences to gain support/more fans there are very few actual musical performances on the show. Each team have their own ED song ala Akuma no Riddle but like Uma Musume -Pretty Derby- the singing scenes only exist to remind viewers this is part idol show. Again Diva(A)Live does nothing particularly wrong but did little to really stand out beyond its premise.

The presentation is solid and colorful. The aforementioned attacks are flashy and the girls look nice. The insert songs and EDs are pretty good to the point some teams would fit well in a crossover with other musical anime. Hint: DJs.

For the most part the yuri here does not go beyond shipping material, with some exceptions

Overall WIXOSS Diva(A)Live is a solid idol anime and card game anime that told a solid story with solid character interactions, development and drama. The cast are cute, sexy and (mostly) fun with a few exceptions. The presentation is solid and the yuri is mostly shipping material with some exceptions. Worth checking out if curious. While a 2nd season would be nice I doubt we will get one nor is the demand for one high. Cool if it happens but not in dire need of it.

PS: I did say this show is not dark like its predecessors. Well, there are some episodes and moments around the 2nd half that are small reminders of this anime series’ roots. Yes indeed.

PPS: Sexy Chocolate Ojou-Sama FTW!

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in G-Views and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 441st G-View: WIXOSS Diva(A)Live

  1. Kotori_Sonoda says:

    I still wish they showed us more of the card game.
    The story is alright but it’s not as intriguing to me as the twisted storyline of it’s predecessors so having actual detailed battle segments would have raised my enjoyment more. I guess only 12 eps isn’t enough for that tho, it is what it is.
    Overall though not bad, I liked it still. I really liked the characters and the themes each team had. Deus ex Machina’s mecha stylings were my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      Nah. No need for misery. The show did its thing just fine.

      WIXOSS is adamant on not properly teaching newcomers how to play the game and that’s okay.

      While I’m not clamoring for another season I’d gladly welcome one.

      Like

    • Kotori_Sonoda says:

      It’s kind of odd I always feel this way about Wixoss, when I’m currently watching Saki, I have no idea what’s happening in game, yet I keep enjoying episode after episode.
      I guess that’s what happened when you grew up on Yu-Gi-Oh hahaha

      Like

  2. Nick says:

    While it wasn’t another dark and suffering entry in the WIXOSS series, I still really enjoyed Diva A Live for what it is, idol card battle show. Yes there were a few darker eps in the second half, but nothing like Selector or Lostorage.

    Even with all the card battles and such I still have absolutely no idea on how the game is actually played. But that’s okay because this anime isn’t about teaching you the rules of the game.

    I liked the more idol themes this anime had, it showed off a new and different side to WIXOSS and it wasn’t all about the true horrors of the game. Hell if anything I wonder how this game differs from what we’re used to in pervious WIXOSS anime.

    All in all Diva A Live was another solid entry in the WIXOSS series and if they decide to make another season I’ll definitely be back to watch it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      Precisely. This entry was treated like a regular virtual card game and not a nightmarish world disguised as a card game.

      Solid and enjoyable stuff that would be neat to see more of.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. K says:

    Indeed, while this was different from Selector and Lostorage, Diva A Live was very enjoyable and it definitely showed the more fun side of WIXOSS. Having card battles in VR totally reminded me of Yu-Gi-Oh VRAINS. If there’s more, I’ll be watching.

    Honestly, I found Hirana, Rei and Akino’s LRIG designs to be plain compared to everyone else. I liked Madoka’s the best. That sleek, retro android look really got my attention. That aside, seeing Bang eating different foodstuffs was very cute.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Would welcome more if we got it.

      I think the character designers gave No Limit a plain design on purpose. It’s part of their underdogs rising to the occasion appeal.

      While Muzica’s my favorite girl on the show Bang’s my favorite design.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ineedyuri says:

    Those boobs look like they’re going to fly off of her.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Somebody says:

    Now that it’s over I can say it was my favorite wixoss series to date. I’m hoping there will be another season since there is still alot left open. The main trio were great and so were all the side groups although I’m still on the fence about dues ex machina. I actually found the ending shocking since I was convinced they were going to win but happy it went the way it did. They just aren’t ready yet for the A bracket.

    Like

  6. yurimylove says:

    Good, balanced review of this series. I like the character designs, but agree precisely “did little to really stand out beyond its premise.”

    Like

  7. RPP says:

    At this point, this series would be disappointing if I knew how to play the card game after watching it lol.

    Like

  8. Laya Chaz says:

    Me: sees a reference to Yu-Gi-Oh

    My brain: You need to watch it

    Me: but why

    My brain: Just do it.

    XD

    I really love card games so I guess I’ll give it a try. Thanks for the review

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      I mentioned Yu-Gi-Oh! because it’s the most famous card game anime but any other can be used as an example. This one doesn’t go into great detail on how to play WIXOSS though. Hope you enjoy it regardless.

      Like

  9. Kotori_Sonoda says:

    I’m rewatching this anime because the game (in Diva format, the one they play here) has recently been picked up for an English release!
    I guess that’s made me appreciate this anime a lot more.

    Also if you can please support the TCG, its really fun and i want Taktom to keep it going as much as possible

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment