Magic of Stella Episode 1: Adorable Doujin Developers

Impatient for the English subs I noticed the Spanish ones were uploaded so I watched that one. Drop by after either the English subs come out or have seen the RAWs.

Tama-chan's messy hair.jpg

Tama-chan’s cuteness is lethal.

The show kicked off with Tamaki and her equally adorable best friend getting read to go to school but Tama-chan was a mess because she wasn’t used to dressing proper for school, being from the countryside and all.

Exhausted after pulling an all-nighter.jpg

At school the duo were looking up which clubs to join with no luck. The next day they stumbled into the doujin club, SNS for short. Two of the three members attending the booth were exhausted after pulling an all-nighter but the following sight broguht them back to life.

Adorable friends.jpg

I need to go to the hospital.

The doujin club had a demo of a puzzle game to show off and Tama-chan was very much intrigued by the idea of joining the club. After thinking about it for a while, reminiscing of all the hobbies and activities she stopped halfway through she remembered the one activity she had the most fun with when she was younger was drawing games like a sugoroku board. It was then that Tama-chan joined the Doujin Game Club as the illustrator. She was tested by Shiina (fav girl so far), the programmer and appointed leader on her resolve and thankfully passed.

Tamaki's drawing style.jpg

Tama-chan was asked to show her drawing skills. They could work with this…somehow.

Fujoshi girl.jpg

OtakuGamerGirlT will like Tama-chan’s friend for they are kindred spirits.

Tama-chan attended the club meeting to discuss the new game’s development that she’ll soon be a part of and everyone would properly introduce themselves.

As mentioned earlier Tamaki Honda was appointed the illlustrator because that’s how she felt she could contribute to the team and also because the previous illustrator had already graduated.

Scary Shiina.jpg

Next up was the programmer, scripter and newly appointed club leader Shiina Murakami. Again she’s the most serious member of the group and can be scary at times.

Seki.jpg

Third is the scriptwriter of the group Ayame Seki whose strongest inspiration comes from cuteness. She also somehow convinced everyone to be in charge of the writing for the newest game they’ll be working on.

Kayu.jpg

Lastly we have the sound and music composer Kayu Fujikawa.

We then learned what SNS stands for but since I watched the Spanish subs I’m not sure how it’ll be translated but it has something to do with a club for “careers shut away from sunlight and baggy/dead fish eyes”. The main goal was to make a doujin game in time for Summer Comiket and everyone agreed they would give it their all.

UPDATE: SNS stands for:

I predict this show will be moetacular with some video game references and educate viewers on the making of doujin games. So New Game! if it took place at school instead of an office. Exactly what I want and I hope it won’t take long for this one to get English subs.

No shipping material yet but definitely a must wach for me.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Magic of Stella Episode 1: Adorable Doujin Developers

  1. Cytrus says:

    The show might not support me on this one but I’m for Tama x Shiina. You don’t often join a club because of “the look in somebody’s eyes”, and they’re my fav characters so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cirno9fan says:

    Very enjoyable first episode!

    I’d have to rewatch that scene a bunch of times to fully get what “SNS” stands for xD or maybe just once, cause iirc it was written out. Maybe I could even find it in my screens?
    Anyway!

    I’m hoping for references to doujinsoft I’ve played, but realize the chances are kinda low. But hope I will!

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      I’ll wait and see how the EN subs translate it.

      We’ll have to wait and see which other games they’ll reference. Currently we got Puyo Puyo but that’s not a doujin title.

      Like

  3. themarrowbook says:

    Judging from the first episode, I’d also expect Magic of Stella to be similar to New Game!
    Right now I can’t say much because the characters were only briefly introduced, but it looks like a nice Girls’ Club show, as expected from Manga Time Kirara.

    I’m most curious about Tama-chan’s friend, who seems to be interested in Yaoi genre.
    Is it possible that she also likes Yuri genre too?
    Otherwise I cannot imagine how this show incorporates yuri as with the other recent Manga Time Kirara anime.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Finally the eng subs have showed up! And for the episode, the girls are cutest thing the galaxy! New Game + High school girls = This marvelous thing they call Magic of Stella!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Literary Scribe Tanique says:

    Yup, I love Tama’s friend. We are kindred spirits lol. I think this show will do well to fill the New Game void this season. It was very cute and also interesting, so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. yurimylove says:

    wait… is this NOT a magical girl anime with a protagonist named Stella? o_O

    Like

Leave a comment