Yuri Quickie: Hazbin Hotel TV

The four year wait for the show had been a long one due to the usual prime suspects known as COVID and backstage politics. Fortunately in early 2024 the long wait had come to an end as the first season of Hazbin Hotel aired. Let us take a quick look at what to expect.

Check out my thoughts on the pilot episode (aka Episode 0) HERE.

Hazbin Hotel TV

Long summary short think of this show as early Disgaea meets raunchy sitcom with a pinch of early 1900s inspired caricatures. It is a story set in Hell about a group of ne’er do wells who may be bad but the other side is worse. The group of naughty misfits are led by Princess Charlie in her plan to promote the titular hotel as a rehabilitation establishment in hopes of redeeming as many sinful souls as possible before the twisted cyclical purge takes various lives of the denizens of the Netherworld with the excuse of maintaining balance or something like that.

The show is full of foul language, debauchery and the occasional violent scuffle. It is marketed as an adult cartoon for good reason. At first I thought the naughty words went overboard and it took me a bit to enjoy it fully but as it progressed they balanced the foul language making it easier to enjoy. Beware that some character arcs cover sensitive topics so be careful before watching. As mentioned I got early Disgaea and even Makai Kingdom vibes with the humor, power levels, titles, culture and “misunderstood baddies” vibes from our heroines and their allies. It is a mix of bad people doing good deeds when they feel like it and bad people finding the good inside. As for the musical numbers, well performed and animated. How much viewers enjoy them is a matter of taste. Keep in mind they cuss in the songs too. It somehow works.

Charlie and Vaggie embraceOn to the main event. They were the best part of the pilot and that remained the same for the first season. Charlie X Vaggie (Chaggie)’s love and support for each other was relationship goals levels of sweetness. Even in their rough times their conflicts were fueled by how they felt about each other. Charlie had the hotel and dreams but of equal importance was her girlfriend. Do not get me started on Vaggie’s undying devotion to her beloved princess. Let me put it this way. They almost made me cry at one point. That is all I will say.

This being the first season expect some questions left unanswered as we wait for the next one in the future. So far it was definitely worth the wait and I look forward to more, provided Vivziepop get their act together of course.

Viewers can watch Episode 0 HERE and Episode 1 HERE. The rest is on Amazon Prime.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Yuri Quickie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yuri Quickie: Hazbin Hotel TV

  1. Jeanettelith says:

    I’ve been waiting for this show since the pilot came out (~4 years, omg). I really liked it, especially the regular foul language, it was very bright and funny. Made me real laugh the moment in the last episode with Lucifer and Adam/Charlie with Susan in the penultimate. The only thing is that it seems to me that all events developed very quickly.

    P.S.: Adam has the best song, love it ❤

    Like

  2. It was a super long wait, but I’d say it was definitely worth it. I think they did great at keeping the charm of the pilot, but also extending it to fit for full series format. I think they did great with balancing the foul language and the rest of the plot without it becoming excessive. The timing on some jokes were especially great. I enjoyed seeing the world of Hell expand and the glimpses we saw into Heaven too. The new characters were a great addition, I especially love Emily and Carmilla. Alastor is always a riot too.

    For sure though, Charlie and Vaggie is the main attraction and their love has only seemed to become even stronger in the series. Vaggie’s support of Charlie is unmatched and really lovely to see. That cry-worthy moment was so sweet and heartfelt. I also loved the twist regarding her, as I honestly didn’t expect it, though now it makes so much sense. I look forward to seeing them more in S2, as well as more of the story. I have high hopes for it, and look forward to seeing everyone again.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      Quite right. Glad to finally see it pan out.

      Exactly. Was worried they’d go overboard with the cussing. It’s fine in doses but not every single scene. Fortunately they found the right balance.

      Besides those two wonderful ladies I liked Cherri Bomb too. Sure she’s a British Punk rocker archetype but I can’t help it. I was smitten. Carmilla’s excellent and I hope we see more of Emily. Cutie chocolate angel.

      Chaggie are love. So much love. Good grief their special scene in the Season was freakin’ chef’s kiss yo. Hit me right in the kokoro. Yeah the Vaggie twist was really cool and made for some solid drama. I liked that all their drama was centered around their feelings for each other. Happiness.

      Fingers crossed the 2nd season isn’t cancelled.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. deathla says:

    MOAR I want MOAR!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rinmiyurif7e632dd6a says:

    The story is being told in hell, you didn’t expect them not to curse 😀
    Anyway, I think Hazbin Hotel is the best GL (sapphic) show in the winter season
    Hazbin Hotel can also be a pleasant work for BL fans, because Angel Dust was also a really lovable character.

    Like

Leave a comment