Stardust Telepath Episode 9: Finding Happiness

This episode. Oh my goodness.

Umika terrified

We picked up right where we left off with Kei greeting her eagerly anticipated raivarus. Things looked somewhat promising at the end of the last episode but at the start of this one…Umika was terrified. We knew presenting in front of a crowd was an extremely tough challenge for our main girl but after seeing how good Kei was at it along with her group’s expectedly successful first rocket launch she pretty much shot down. Rather than wait till the end of the episode we’re spared a slow and painful heartbreak…instead got hit with an “It was a disaster” right away. Ouch.

Haruno tries to stop Matataki from leaving

We know the gang will eventually patch things but by the gods did this one hit hard. It was brief but Matataki’s words to Haruno cut deep. It also gave me more hope that “THAT” WAS where they’re going with these two.

Oh my goodness.

Umika about to snap

I was all “No baby girl! It’ll be okay. Please don’t cry!” before she snapped on Yu. She didn’t blame her for anything. She was all “I’m useless” and GOD, was it heartbreaking. Again I knew the breakup wouldn’t last long but DANG, was it sad. I love these four so much. Yu noticing her soulmates charm wasn’t sparkling hurt too.

Kei comforts Umika

The next day while Umika wallowed in despair Hona asked her to get some groceries.
As she left the store she was spotted by a nearby Kei who saw the poor lass in pain. Now most of Kei’s words of encouragement were stating the obvious but that’s because we’re observers. Umika’s living it and was under so much stress she couldn’t think properly. As our heroine explained everything about the club, her goals and harem Kei commended her goal of making friends with aliens and finding somewhere to belong on other planets but, like Matataki told her in an ealier episode, Umika already found somewhere she belonged. Umika thought she’s a terrible leader who dragged everyone down but Kei said they appointed her the leader because they believed in her vision and believed in her.

“Think of this not as a failure but as a learning experience. Think about what went wrong and work hard to improve. Also think about this. Many people who competed in this tournament before, win or lose, went on to do great things in this field. There’s plenty of time left in your life to aspire toward greatness. Don’t let this get you down too long. You got this Umika!”

Umika realized she must protect her special place. She had to go fix it, starting with her one true love. A nice touch was Kei being very relieved her advice helped encourage Umika. So good.

Hona worried about Umika

I loved this moment of Hona panicking about her beloved Onee-chan not coming home for hours after going shopping. Their off-screen mom too of course. Warmed my heart.

Yu reappears

Umika and Yu make up

Umika and Yu's sparkle returns

The whole make up scene had “Oh my god” written all over it. My heart. Also Yu clearly wanted more than a forehead kiss.

I usually gravitate toward side-couples in Yuri shows. Sometimes I enjoy their brief but powerful romantic development more than the main girls’…but not here. UmiYu are on top of the mountain. They are untouchable.

Umika enjoys Yu's song

Their latest snuggle brought back one of Yu’s lost memories. An important song. Umika’s heart was warmed by her beautiful singing voice. She also found her spark and hoped to become stronger the right way.

Fantastic. Now give me HaruTaki making up in as close to an amazing scene as this one. I need it…I. NEED. IT.

Oh my god. I fucking love this show.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Stardust Telepath Episode 9: Finding Happiness

  1. Little Viktoria says:

    Such an incredible episode. So beautiful. Poor sad girls, I hope all will be fine. Can’t bear waiting until next week after what happened between Matataki and Haruno. But more than anything I wonder what is Akeuchi Yu, and is she going to stay with Umika. Please stay.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I knew you’d adore this episode, and I’m right there with you. It was so beautiful!

    Yes, things started out somber. I think things went about how we all expected, as if they succeeded so soon, there wouldn’t be much left to develop. That said, it was still crushing to see their defeat and to see how it hurt them all so deeply. I don’t like to see our girls sad, or having internal strife. Both pairs had harsh exchanges, but Matataki and Haruno might have been just a tad more brutal. But like Umika and Yu, I believe they’ll make up, and I hope it’ll be just as magical and make them official too.

    Nothing left to wonder about Umika and Yu however. They are 100% official, going through their mini breakup and reconciliation all in this episode. Magical is really the only way to describe it and it was so much greater than I expected it’d be. The only thing I hadn’t expected was how quickly Yu would develop her obvious feelings. It’s obvious that they are quickly evolving from sweet, innocent forehead kisses, to Yu clearly wanting to take the next step of kissing for real. She finally realizes how intimate their actions really are, and is starting to realize she’s in love. I think Umika is not conscious of her feelings yet, but is acting instinctively, showing they’re there.

    These two are definitely the top couple, for sure, not able to be overshadowed by the side couple this time, and it’s wonderful to see. They may also honestly reign as the top couple of the Yuri season. Seeing their interactions and steady development is healing. I look forward to Matataki and Haruno joining them soon. Such good stuff!

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Yup. Them losing wasn’t surprising because anime loves to teach us the life lesson of “you almost never get it right the first time”.

      HaruTaki must happen. One way another. Even if we only get baby steps at best, I NEED IT.

      Their struggles, especially Umika’s, tore me apart. Glad our main girls made up and grew closer.
      Yu wants Umika’s taco and we love to see it. Umika’s at the “heart knows what brain doesn’t” phase of the love story.

      If they keep it up UmiYu will take the gold this season for sure.

      Please HaruTaki. PLEASE!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. cirno9fan says:

    I’m usually one of the very few on the main couple side, so it’s refreshing to have allies for once!

    I bawled so much this episode ;_; I guess we also pretty much got some heavy confirmation that Yu is, in actuality, an alien. I think things were being sketchy up to this point, but I feel there’s enough hard evidence at this point. What is ever more interesting is her “presence” seems to be tied to Umika. I wonder if Umika unknowingly helped an alien, and that alien sent Yu as a way to repay her? I’m Jumping too much at this point probably XD

    Just an absolutely beautiful moment~ Here’s hoping season 2 ends up being a thing. I dont’ want hte story to end so soon…I know there’s the manga of course, but I’ll always hope that it can be fully animated. they did so much with that scene that I’m sure looked beautiful in the manga, but there are limits to manga.

    I knew things were going that way with Matataki and Haruno. I know people here tended ot take it as “No I care about you”, but for me, that scene was Haruno realizing the flaw in the way of thinking she clung to. I’m not saying there isn’t a part of her that thinks that of Matataki, but that moment wasn’t about her being unable to get out the words, but unable to respond with anything at all. Just cut to the heart at the truth in Matataki’s words and stunned. Which happened with greater depth in this episode.

    I too look forward to see how things resolve between them!

    this show is ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Makoto Itoshi says:

    Gotta say, you were extremely off about your prediction of which shows would have drama this season and which ones would be lighthearted.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kotori_Sonoda says:

    They really poured the drama this episode!
    I’m Glad however that Umika managed to find her way, with some help from Kei.

    Also give me Harutaki, next ep better be gud!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. chikorita157 says:

    It’s not too surprising that the girls wouldn’t make it pass the first round, but at least it launched without a catastrophic failure, although Mitataki and Umika and particular was upset. Yes, it’s pretty sad and heartbreaking.

    Kei is a very nice person and seem impressed by Umika’s rocket and really get her back on her feet and not give up on her dream.

    The last scene with Yuu and Umika reuniting with each other and Umika apologizing is well, nice and sweet. At least they made up, but hopefully it’s not too late to help mend things between Matataki and Haruno.

    Also, I notice there is a banner on top of the website, which can be disabled.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. yurimylove says:

    wow what a heartache! i’m so, so glad Umika and Yu are back together at the end ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. LuzeP says:

    As I said on Twitter, Matataki needs to develop her character because so far, she’s still the same. Otherwise it will take a long time for HaruTaki to move forward. I know it will happen eventually. Haruno is the only one who was there for Matataki.

    Losing is hurt, I know, but I never expected them to win right away. When Yu was missing I got so scared. It hurts me when Umika’s crying. Thank goodness after that we got the most beautiful scene that I’ve ever imagine. I swear they’re going to kiss this time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      It’s why I’ll be content with the show giving us positive vibes for their relationship. Just give me SOMETHING to indicate HaruTaki will start for realzies. I still love them and eagerly await their big scene.

      UmiYu are bliss. They’re everything and deserve all the happiness. Love them so much.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Nick says:

    Experienced all the emotions watching this ep.

    Glad they didn’t show Umika’s opening speech as it would’ve been too painful to watch but as we learn later on it does serve a purpose for Umika to come back stronger.

    Matataki and Haruno had a tough moment there too, also hard to watch.

    Kei is so precious, I love her a lot. That scene when she’s talking to Umika was excellent.

    And of course the end of this ep with Umika and Yu was breathtaking. Rough start to this ep but it ended strong!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Stardust Telepath Spoiler-Filled Review – Burkely Hermann's Official Website

Leave a comment