YMC #82 and #82.5: Sayonara Folklore & As Yet I Have No Name (By Your Average Joe)

My 9th and 9.5th Manga Review: Sayonara Folklore & As Yet I Have No Name

Genres: Drama, Romance, School life, Yuri

Length: 5 chapters + 4 miniscule bonus chapters, completed

By: Kazuma Kowo

Two very short Manga this time, as will be this review.

Story: Hayase has gone to this school for years, so she knows that you do *not* touch anyone on Monday, and if you do, there’s a little incantation that must be recited. But Mashiro has just transfered in, and does not know these things. Hayase explains that we do not touch on Monday, because not too long ago two girls did – and they fell in love, became lovers and tried to die together. Therefore, if you don’t recite the charm, you might fall in love with whomever touched you…and that would be bad. Of course Hayase explains this after Mashiro has touched her…on a Monday.

If that name sounds familiar, that is because it’s from the same author whom brought us ‘Junsui Adolescence’. But unlike the mentioned manga, I do not like this Manga as much as that one. As you can tell from the story summary, it is based around a superstition and everyone in school is terrified of ending like the suicide girls mentioned. (Why does saying ‘suicide girls’ sound so bad?) However, Mashiro is unfazed by this story and thus teases Hayase knowing she feels uncomfortable. Teasing is a two-way street for me, either I love it or hate it. In this I don’t hate it as such but am not about to award this Manga for it either. This teasing does eventually transform into love (I think) so that’s nice.

(The supposed ‘Suicide girls’, their silhouettes look good though)

As far as the characters go, they’re alright. As I claimed in my previous short Manga reviews, I cannot like a Manga or its characters as much because it is just too short to get invested in. Admittedly that is not always true as certain Manga (like ‘The Miko’s Words and the Witch’s Incantations’ and ‘Renai Manga’) are absolutely beautiful despite being short. The two centrals characters, Mashiro and Hayase I cannot connect with as their romance and personality differ from my liking. There really isn’t much to say but just because I don’t like something, doesn’t mean you won’t like it

Yuri: The two centrals characters, Mashiro and Hayase I cannot connect with as their romance and personality differ from my liking. There really isn’t much to say but just because I don’t like something, doesn’t mean you won’t like it

Next up, an even shorter Manga: As Yet I Have No Name

Genres: Drama, School life, Tomboy, Yuri

Length: 5 chapters, completed

By: Kazuma Kowo (Same author)

(The teasing that I’ll be mentioning)

Story (written by me):  Kisaragi recently enrols in a new school (I notice a bit of a pattern here) and finds interest in a strange girl whom I don’t remember the name of and literally looks like a boy. That’s the best I got.

Can you tell from the laziness of the summary that I don’t favour this Manga? If so then you’re correct. The story I feel goes and develops nowhere and the characters are unlikable. Not considering myself as a professional or even well-established reviewer, but this is definitely Kowo-san’s (Not trying to be racist or offensive, it’s just meant as humour) weakest works in my eyes.

Yuri: The entire story is centralised around teasing and this time I do hate it. Characters feel to me as they don’t love each other, only tease. At one point Kisaragi is even looking into getting a boyfriend.

So, to conclude both short Manga:

Forgettable? Maybe not ‘Sayonara Folklore’ but sure ‘As Yet I Have No Name’.

Recommendation? ‘Sayonara Folklore’, yes. Not the other one

Story: 4/10, Characters: 4/10, Overall enjoyment: 4/10, Yuri Goodness: 4/10

Overall Score: 16/40 for ‘Sayonara Folklore’. The other Manga I won’t give a score for.

Thank you for reading and I’d like your help! I’m having difficulty finding length Manga to read/review that haven’t already been reviewed on this site. If you are willing, feel free to suggest any Yuri or even subtext Yuri Manga to me. It does not matter if it is short or lengthy, reviewed or not. Thank you for reading and I appreciate it!

 

This entry was posted in Yuri Manga Corner and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to YMC #82 and #82.5: Sayonara Folklore & As Yet I Have No Name (By Your Average Joe)

  1. If you don’t mind hentai check out mira’s work, they are absolutely amazing. I think you can find most of them on Yuri-ism.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. yukkaonna says:

    And i still wait when you review about Gamma, or Hakodate, or Bloom Into You ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. yukkaonna says:

    And for me, “As yet i have no name” not only teasing – last part clearly show us that Kisaragi and Amamori have feelings for each other and they just like teasing each other. It’s just how they communicate. Like i love joking around my sister and say, how she’s silly and little one, but i love her very much. Just another type of relationship over of “lovely-dovely” and “i so much love you! let’s f*ck!”. ))

    Like

    • youraveragejoe010 says:

      I see your point, its all about personal preference and my preference just so happens to not be teasing in this manga.

      As for the manga reviews: Gamma I really wanted to do but it has already been reviewed on this site before by someone else (not sure who). I’ll look up what Hakodate is and I will review Bloom into you once its completed.

      Liked by 1 person

      • yukkaonna says:

        And i understand your’s point of view ))
        Hakodate Youjin Buraichou Himegami – very good series with good bonus – historical aspect. Not so yuri, how we all expect, but this is that type of yuri, where no need kisses, sex or confession. Like Izetta or Night of Azure.

        Like

Leave a comment