YMC #74: The Miko’s Words and the Witch’s Incantations (By Your Average Joe)

Name: The Miko’s Words and the Witch’s Incantations

Genres: No men, Comedy, Fantasy, Shrine Maiden, Romance, Yuri

Length: 6 chapters + 1 (very short!) bonus chapter

By: Fujieda Miyabi
Status: Completed

Story: Letty, a witch, rescues a miko, Tsumugi, from a shrine. This manga was originally titled “The Caged Miko and the Whimsical Witch,” but the title was changed when Yuri Shimai became Yuri Hime.

Very solid Manga. I love this Manga and cannot find any flaw with it. Except for the fact that is it yet another short Manga. The romance is amazing, maybe even perfect and the characters are believable and lovable. I really don’t have any more to say about it so I’ll just talk about the story in depth.

Letty who is a witch ‘saves’ a Miko (whatever that means, I need to look it up), Tsumugi from the shrine she resigns in. She couldn’t leave the shrine initially due to the role she had to play as a Miko and ever since Letty the witch breaks the barrier, she travels the world with Tsumugi since she never got a chance to do so.

Romance as mentioned is fantastic. Especially since neither character shy’s away from each other, expect for Letty but only for the first half of the Manga. Their romance grows more and more quicly with every chapter Tsumugi even believe they were destined for each other. Letty at first believes that Tsumugi is mistaking mother/daughter love with partner love but swiftly realise that Tsumugi is not wrong and Letty herself develops feelings for her. This is why I love it. Don’t get me wrong, I also really enjoy when characters gradually root a love relationship and take their time to be comfortable with each other, I also enjoy the exact opposite which is what this Manga’s story holds. This is something that I deem not many Anime currently offer. (Hopefully in the future Yuri becomes a mass genre like the others, or at least more popular).

(This picture perfectly encapsulates what I’m talking about)

Manga obviously lives up to the genre tags it’s been given. The comedy tag I’m not so sure about, particularly in the second half (don’t want to spoil). But what I adore is when the characters go into what I’ll now label as ‘Moe-Mode’ (I don’t know if there is already a title given to it), when they enter into that cute blobby person version of themselves. You know what I mean, it’s very common in Anime and Manga and you can see it in the picture above. I’m sort of a sucker for this thing. This makes the characters even more lovable then they already are.

But this Manga does suffer the problems of every short Manga, that is that’s its so short you don’t have time to create that strong bond with the characters like you would in a lone Anime and Manga. This is why I feel I must limit my scoring to such a number as I was not given enough time to truly connect with the characters, such a shame for a near perfect Manga.

The bonus chapter admittedly is not memorable, it revolves around 2 other side characters who may or may not be ship-able (if that’s even a word). Only one of them may or may not have a crush on Tsumugi or Letty.

Yuri Goodness: 9/10

Story: 8/10

Characters: 9/10

Overall enjoyment: 9/10

Overall Score: 35/40

A must read for sure!

Thank you all for reading, sorry I can’t respond to replies. It’s very hard for me to.

This entry was posted in Yuri Manga Corner and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to YMC #74: The Miko’s Words and the Witch’s Incantations (By Your Average Joe)

  1. elkat4 says:

    I remember this manga. It’s another good manga from the creator of Iono-sama Fanatics.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. the_elevator_man says:

    Argh, already beaten to it, but yep, this short is a really sweet yuri manga. Letty IIRC is literally Iono-sama’s successor.

    I do remember that the biggest impact was “there really should me more of this.”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. yurimylove says:

    Thanks for another nice manga review. I just read it and it’s a fun read. The ending is especially sweet.

    The word for it is chibi-mode (or super-deformed), though moe-mode sounds cute too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment