Yuri Talk: Sisterly love and Twincest

Minor nsfw warning.

So this time I wanted to talk about two yuri subgenres that despite the controversy surrounding them (One of them anyway), it’s still portrayed and mostly accepted by the yuri nation as sweet, depending on how it’s written. Let’s first take a look at the romance between sisters and then love between two girls (related or not) who are nearly perfect mirror images of one another.

It all began with one particular show for me, Candy Boy. To this day the title still makes no sense to me but I accepted its irrelevance to the show’s greatness and today’s topic. Basically the anime showed me something I didn’t expect could be seen as legitimately heartwarming or even acceptable, a romantic relationship between two girls born from the same mother.

Cousins…sort of the same thing.

When I look at how a romantic relationship between sisters comes together, I HAVE to compare it to childhood friends falling in love. Think about it. This may not be true for all sisters but as far as I know, other than bathing (Which I hear some do,) sisters eat, sleep, play, fight, cry, complain and share Doritos together among other things. Aside from bathing, best friends pretty much do the same thing, except they share Cheetos.

Sometimes writers use the “oh, one of the sisters is adopted” scapegoat but usually they’re conceived from the same womb. I prefer the latter more because there can more depth and intrigue within a love between legitimate sisters. What’s going through their minds? Why is her sister the soulmate? Can their relationship last in the long run? If it can, how long? Can the sisters get away with their secret romance? Unlike regular yuri relationships, I don’t think SL has been explored deeper than simply falling in love with each other.

If anyone knows a Live-Action or yuri anime/manga that goes deeper in the subject of SL, let me know.

Let’s continue with the 2nd half of the subject and possibly the favorite, twincest. This begs the obvious main question, why is twincest more popular? Why is it that seeing women who look incredibly identical, sisters or not, excites viewers more? My best guess would be the sexual aspect rather than the romantic.

Other than the fact the twins are usually distinguished by hair length/eye color, most of the traits mentioned in the SL section can also be applied to twin lovers. That still makes me wonder why twin lovers are more popular.

Sometimes I wonder if Narcissism is involved? Could it be that the twins are secretly living a previously impossible dream? I mean, could the sisters love themselves so much that they could only love another that looks, thinks and acts EXACTLY like them? A mirror image, doppelganger or what have you.

I think this trait was used in mythology but wouldn’t it be interesting if one day a story were written about twin sisters, separated at birth, somehow found each other, got married and found out they’re siblings AFTER adopting a daughter?

In the end, this post’s main purpose is to encourage others to share their own opinions of both these yuri subgenres. Which do you like better? What do you like about one or both relationships? Anything else you’d like to add, go for it doods!

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Yuri Talk and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Yuri Talk: Sisterly love and Twincest

  1. MAR-KLAC-VELOUS says:

    oh my there no words say it but only in anime you can see those.

    Like

  2. Hey, that second manga bit is from Gokujo Drops. Good manga. My take on the whole thing? I’m a perv. So I enjoy both. But if I had to pick one, I like SL better. Twincest is kinda dull, cause the chicks looks the same. I dig the whole, forbidden aspect and such of sisters being involved in such a thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. yurimylove says:

    I know you’ve all heard this one before but, twincest = “wincest”! Personally I like both, as they’re both yuri.

    In live action TV series, especially asian TV series, you often see sisters fight for the same guy, or get jealous at each other etc. I don’t like watching those at all. In anime however, more often than not sisters usually share a loving relationship, even if not in the romantic way. I much prefer watching that kind of sisterly relationship, instead of more antagonistic/competitive/sibling rivalry type — doesn’t matter to me even if that were to be more likely in real life.

    So yeah, Candy Boy is definitely in my top 10 all time favorite anime series. I’m also big supporter of Tesla x Nine, Kuro x Yuu, Grunhilde x Gruier, Hazuki x Hatsumi, Kyō x Asu, Kaim x Alty, Chizuru x Shigure, Marin x Urin, *take a breath* Yui x Ui, Elina x Leina, Akarin x “creepy stalker sister” (sorry I was warned NOT to name her), Rio x Rina……

    Like

    • Overlord-G says:

      Hmm, I should have known an SL movie would be harder to find than a hetero incest movie.

      Hmm, you’ve named almost all of them. BTW, the last pair aren’t related, not really.

      Like

  4. Foxy Lady Ayame says:

    I think that twincest is more popular coz it’s easier for the (male) viewer to objectify two females who look alike, almost like clones/robots rather than two characters with seperate design and personality. It could be that it bears the charm of selfcest without its ‘weirdness’ and one might fantasize giving and receiving pleasure to him/herself x2. Or it could be sth as simple as the impression of stronger bond between twins than simple siblings.

    Like

    • Overlord-G says:

      Well said Foxy. So Narcissism and the sexual appeal are main factors of twincest’s popularity after all. Well, I’m down with that, but I still want to see a movie like the one I described in the paragraph before the conclusion.

      Like

  5. Can I know these anime names???

    Like

    • OG-Man says:

      Candy Boy.
      Kaitou Tenshi – Twin Angel: Twinkle Paradise
      Yuru Yuri
      The cousins are from Sono Hanabira: My Dear Prince.
      The manga I forgot where they’re from.

      Like

  6. bluepermission says:

    Once upon a time, I reflexively looked responded with “Ew!” or “Disgusting!” or “That’s wrong!” to many, many different things and I sure most people understand why that can be detrimental. Don’t condemn without reason. Questioning our beliefs, intuitions, and what is taught to us is what makes people smarter.

    So eventually I got around to asking: “Is incest wrong?”

    This is my conclusion:
    Incest is not wrong. It’s no more wrong than a homosexual relationship. There’s no reason why genetic similarity should make a romantic relationship unethical.

    Here’s something that addresses a lot of common (and logically fallacious) reasons people tend to give for believing that incest is bad: http://bigthink.com/think-tank/is-incest-wrong
    And some more guides to thinking: https://yourlogicalfallacyis.com/
    http://www.philosophybasics.com/branch_logic.html
    http://www.philosophybasics.com/branch_ethics.html

    I ❤ philosophy.

    As a side note: Love of twincest is a personal opinion. Don’t look down on twincest just because it can be interpreted negatively. Narcissism can be part of twincest. But that doesn’t mean it has to be. It’s possible to view just about EVERYTHING, yuri included from a negative perspective.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. For whatever reason, Incest and in particular Twincest is the only Romantic trope I tend enjoy more in a Hetero context. Maybe it’s precisely because the justification for it being taboo doesn’t apply in a Gay context so it doesn’t excite as much. Still I’ve definitely enjoyed some Yuri Siscon.

    Wixoss seems nearly perfect to me because the only dude is a Twin who’s sister secretly loves him.

    Regardless of Gender the logic behind Twincest is compelling to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Love Ribbon Review | The Yuri Nation

  9. Pingback: Yuri Talk: OT3s | The Yuri Nation

Leave a comment