Overlord-G’s Summer 2011 picks; Version C

Greetings doods and peeps of all ages. I know I’m late for the party in terms of what bloggers will choose to watch this season but I’ll add my two cents anyway as to what I’ll be checking out, thus giving my fans an idea of what G-Views to expect.

Yuru Yuri:

Do I really need to explain why this show’s on the top of my list?

Morita-san wa Mukuchi:

The PV episode had an interesting premise, a girl who thinks way too much before taking action and is often seen in accidental yuri situations. I’m sold!

Nekogami Yaoyorozu:

More randomness, more aimlessness, more nonsense, more yuri subtext, more happy face time for me! Hihihihihi.

It’s a show about a vampire kitty. What more do you need?

Doulble-J:

Watching this show reminded me that I have to finish Fireball Charming. I think I’ll review both as Double Slammies since they’re are very short…nah I’ll review them separately.

Baka Test 2:

I watched the 1st season so I’m watching the 2nd as well…that’s it.

Ro-Kyu-Bu:

At first glance it’s a lolicon-ish looking series but as long as the show involves as little romantic interaction between the coach and his players, then I won’t mind. The main reason I’m checking this one out despite my anti-lolicon mindset, I have a feeling this show might be something similar to Hanamaru Kindergarten, except more ecchi.

After watching the 2nd episode, I sense a little bit of Taishou Yakyuu Musume mixed with Bamboo Blade and lolis. I’m guessing the fanservice will be jail bait while the serious moments will rock hard. I’m not sure how long this feeling will last but if this keeps up, we may have a winner on our hands.

Kami-sama no Memo-chou:

A very impressive debut episode. I assume that this show’s going to be another one of those 45 minute things. At first I didn’t think Alice was as impressive as Victorique but eventually she’s proven herself to be a worthy contender. I’ll be keeping a close eye on her actions from now on.

It’s incredibly insane and random beginning and cool trio of protagonists is what got me interested…oh and penguins but I’ll explain once I review this bad boy. Oh, and the cliffhanger end left me confused.

What grabbed my attention the most from this show isn’t the plot or the premise but its art style. It somehow brings back memories of a childhood Christmas Special I saw once. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name.

Due to the fact I didn’t keep up with neither C or AnoHana last season, I added these two shows on my schedule. I think these are the two shows people will talk about the most.

Ikouku Meiro no Croisee:

I have a weakness for cuteness and simplicity so…another one to the list. I also have a feeling Yi-san will consider checking this show out in the future.Oh and there’s French dialogue in it. KICK ASS!

Kuttsukiboshi episode 2:

I have a bone to pick with this OVA.

Dantalian no Shoka: A show competing with Kami-Memo to find the true successor to Victorique’s badass cuteness. It should be an interesting clash between super sleuth lolis.

There are many other shows I have yet to see, so stay tuned in case I find more shows to add to my already packed anime schedule. Oh boy, it’s going to be a looooooooong Summer.

Manyuu Kikenchou was removed from my schedule due to it not being worth discussing for the moment…unless something yurirific happens. Also, since Nyanpire, Morita-san and Double-J are “Appetizer” type anime, I’ll added Penguin and Usagi on my list.

Shows that didn’t make the cut due to constraints:

Mayo-Chiki.

Manyuu Kikenchou (Unless they release an uncensored version later)

Natsume Yujinchou.

R-15

No. 6

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Overlord-G’s Summer 2011 picks; Version C

  1. ryo_kun says:

    Kami-sama no Memo-chou , Ikouku Meiro no Croisee and Baka to test 2 are on my list. Just watched Kamisama and thought it was very nice. The mysteries seems more serious and the whole show gives off a gloomy atmosphere. Oh I might check Yuri Yuri out too since Yi’s been tweeting about it being nice and all.

    Like

    • Overlord-G says:

      Good choices dood. I can vouch for Yi-san and Yuru Yuri because I also read all the chapters that were translated and waiting for the ones that still need to be translated. Do check out YY once it’s subbed or watch the RAW is you’ve got the idea.

      I was also impressed by the debut episode of Memo-chou. You want the viewers to take you seriously, have a Law and Order style debut.

      Like

  2. tsurugiarashix says:

    My list is packed as well. Already done with Yuri Yuri and Kamisama Dolls along with my first impressions ^^ and still more to come….

    @_@ I might suffer from series overload.

    Like

    • Overlord-G says:

      Anime is the ultimate form of animation that blows away CGI and Western animation…except Action shows because I like Western action cartoons more than Shounen anime but that’s a different subject.

      Point is, there’s never too much anime to satisfy your viewing pleasure dood.

      Like

  3. abscissa says:

    I like your top picks, unfortunately I can only maintain maximum of three animes–well I can push it to four if time will allow me to. Ikouku Meiro no Croisee, Morita-san wa Mukuchi, Yuru Yuri, and Kami-sama no Memo-chou are on my trial list, but I still have to decide which ones are the keepers.

    Like

  4. Overlord-G says:

    I think you’ll like all 4 shows even though I haven’t seen Morita-san yet since it’ll debut later this week so stay tuned for that one as well. So yeah, give them all a try.

    Like

  5. Wiguan says:

    Double J, I drop is with very much disappointment already…

    Like

  6. feal87 says:

    Approve most of the list, except maybe Manyuu Kikenchou, I can’t stand that kind of style…:|

    Like

  7. hoshiko says:

    Hey, it’s better late than never.

    You’ve got quite a long list there. So far, I’ve checked out Yuru Yuri, Double-J, Ro-Kyu-Bu, Kami-sama no Memo-chou and Ikouku Meiro no Croisee. I’m definitely following the last two series, as for Yuru Yuri and Ro-Kyu-Bu..if I can squeeze in some time I’d consider watching more episodes.

    Like

    • Overlord-G says:

      Watch the ones you’re free to watch dood. Kamimemo and Ikouko are worthy of following. YY is only if you’re the same as I am in terms of taste, just like Fireball Charming and possibly Morita-san wa Mukuchi.

      Like

  8. Yi says:

    You’re definitely right about Croisee. I can’t believe this flew under my radar during preview season… I guess I just wasn’t that aware of what’s being released this summer. But anyway, I’m going to be watching Croisee and Yuruyuri for sure, maybe a few other on a whim.

    Like

  9. Cuatro says:

    for me, Natsume Yuujinchou San, Nurarihyon no Mago Sennen Makyou, Baka Test to Shoukanjuu Ni!.. Yup, only 3.

    Like

Leave a comment