Love Live! Nijigasaki Episode 12: The Answer?

That felt like the longest week of my life as a yuri fan. Freakin’ Love Live! I tell you.

Ayumu sulkingYu sulking

Kasumi left out

Let’s get the other stuff out of the way first. Most of it was the SIC preparing for the SIF. Each member had their own presentation while Haruka and Himeno’s groups did their thing. There was a funny scene of Kasumin feeling like she’s the least popular member only to find out she had her fans after all. Good for you Kasukasu.

Alright let’s get back to what we’re all here for.

Ayumu not letting Yu go

Her accursed phone interrupted the magical moment but the next day Ayumu didn’t want to let Yu go.

Ayumu worries Yu will leave her

Lots of awkwardness between the two. Ayumu knew what she did last time was hardcore. Yu obviously felt as confused as her. The two would run into each other again. Yu tried telling Ayumu her dream one more time. Setsuna overhearing her first was a technicality. However, Ayumu didn’t want to hear it because she thought it meant they’d drift apart and that would break her heart. Yu held back again.

Ayumu and fans discussing her event

Before the second meeting of the two there was one important moment that made a huge impression on Ayumu.

Setsuna encourages Ayumu

Throughout the episode Setsuna was the one who noticed both girls sulking. Later she invited Ayumu to walk with her. Ayumu let it all out. She was like “I want to sing for Yu and only Yu…but after seeing more cuties supporting me I want my songs to reach more people” Setsuna gave her an encouraging response.

Ayumu receives a special flower from YuAyumu thanks YuAyumu 2nd PerformanceYu shows Ayumu her piano progress

Okay. I’m going to try to keep this simple. Was I let down the first time I saw the “big scene”? Yes. I will not deny it. HOWEVER, after thinking it over I have the following thoughts:

Despite it being ONE OF THE MOST SCHOOL IDOLEST OF IDOLY MOMENTS I HAVE EVER SEEN IN ALL MY YEARS AS A LOVE LIVE! YURI FAN…I get what they were going for. Ayumu was being selfish. She didn’t let Yu say her peace nor follow her dreams. She wanted to keep her to herself. She had to give Yu space to follow her dreams, which was to become a musician. Cool. The “I want to sing for everyone” stuff, whatever. Generic idol answer. Heard it before. The point was for Ayumu to “Blue Bird” Yu. Does this mean all hope for a yuri future is gone? No. Ayumu said they need more time. This could mean we’ll either get a better answer in the 2nd cour or the Nijigasaki movie. Will we finally get a smoochie-woochie? This is Love Live! What do you think?

In the end I get what they’re going for but my problem was that after one of the most hype cliffhangers in Love Live! anime history, the payoff felt really “half-assed”, so Love Live!…Ayumu X Yu are definitely still soul mates, just gotta wait a while longer before they think about second base.

Ayumu China Dress

At least we got to see Ayumu in her seductive purple China dress so there’s that.

G-View next time.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Love Live! Nijigasaki Episode 12: The Answer?

  1. cirno9fan says:

    I don’t think we should expect too much from a movie (that hasn’t been announced) or second season (that hasn’t been announced), but the way ti was worded wasn’t “I’m leaving you for the aidoru life”, it was a “we’re going to go our separate ways for a time, but we’ll meet back together later. I never expected them to go further than something like this, because it’s love live. But I’m glad we got an answer. It’s just that the both of them have “life” to experience right now, and they’ll settle down together in the future, I have no doubt.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What we were secretly hoping for was honestly too much to expect from LL, even if it is gayer than it has ever has been, but as you’ve already come to understand, Ayumu x Yuu are destined. They are learning how to live independently of each other, which to be honest is a healthy development for any long term relationship. I don’t think we have anything to worry about as far as their future goes, but for now, it’ll do them both good to find and live their individual dreams and support each other through it all. Once they’ve reached the peak of their dreams, surely they will fully realize their feelings and make it official. As for the prospect of S2 and a movie, the previous editions of LL have had the same formats, so I doubt this one will be any different.

    Liked by 2 people

    • cirno9fan says:

      The main thing that makes this unlikely is that we’ve already got a new love live series that’s been decided on. Considering this is basically a mobage ad, and not really a brand new love live, I expect the new one to be the one with a second season + movie, over the one that is basically a prologue for the game.

      Like

    • OG-Man says:

      Quite right. Was hoping for more. 99% of us were but at least we can confidently say they’re destined to get together and one day it will happen.

      Precisely. Shioriko fans would be sad if there were no S2 for her to debut in.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Somebody says:

    Hmm seems like their dreams are very much connected and would lead to very little drifting but whatever.

    Anyway from the flower scene it’s pretty clear what’s going to happen. She basically comes out and says she will never stop loving her. Those other three had to ruin the moment though.

    Seems unlikely we wont get a second season/movie. My guess would be it’s about them forming a single unit with yu writing their songs. I mean from my understanding they just started putting on concerts so why stop so soon.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      We’ll hopefully come back to their relationship at some point in a potential 2nd season.

      Screw the fans. Fans come and go but true love is forever.

      Exactly. Plus Shioriko and the other two girls deserve to be animated too.

      Like

  4. Nick says:

    This might not have played out exactly as we hoped it would, but it was still a very good ep and it left the door open to return to Yu and Ayumu in the future. I didn’t really comment on it too much in my review, actually I don’t think I mentioned it at all, but I liked the scene where Ayumu and Yu meet up and Yu shows off the stage she made for Ayumu. Also giving her that flower with the meaning it had, that was a special moment. I thought roses were the default love flower, but I guess that shows how little I know about flowers and their meanings.

    China Dress Ayumu is so sexy! Nice to see that included at the end there. I couldn’t really figure out where to put that in for my review so it also got put at the end. There was no way I was going to push ‘Publish’ without having that screen cap in there at some point.

    The grand finale next week! The long awaited School Idol Festival!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. yurimylove says:

    they haven’t kissed… yet, but i’m sure it’s only a matter of time.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. LuzeP says:

    Knowing Love Live, it’s very likely we’ll get a second season. So yeah, I kinda expected it. This development. Ever since the piano scene in the early episode. That moment I thought, Yu wants to become an idol producer. There will be a lot to learn but in the end, her main objective is to support Ayumu forever. “we’ll be together forever” has been said a couple of times. She can’t be just a manager anymore. She wants more. For me Yu x Ayumu still stronger than ever.

    Yes, Ayumu was being selfish there, I knew this was coming. The reason she joined the school idol was to make Yu happy after all. Nothing more. I’m so glad she found her happiness from her fans. So to sum up, did I expect more? No, to be honest. At least there will more story from this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      It is not surprising we didn’t get more than what we got, this is Love Live! after all, but as you said we got enough and more confirmation Yu X Ayumu are soul mates. Just gotta wait for the day they’re ready to take their relationship to the next level in the future.

      Like

Leave a comment