Love Live! Nijigasaki Episode 6: The Mask

My most anticipated character episode of the show is here at last!

Rina's communication anxiety

We began with Rina’s backstory. In short she’s communication anxiety. First because she’s shy.

Rina wants to smile

Second because she had great difficulty smiling. She really, really wanted to smile but couldn’t. Her poker face is of course glorious but a smile (in the anime, not official art. We all know they exist) would be amazing.

Rina meets Ai

Her life slowly became better when Miss Ai befriended her. It was like “Oh my. Somebody wanted to be my friend in spite of my face.”.

Yu X Ayumu and Ai X Rina Double Date

Back in the present we joined four of our heroines on a double date at the arcade when they were approached by three of Rina’s classmates she tried befriending in the flashback but couldn’t. They recognized them thanks to the PVs from last episode.

Rina's Avatar

They liked Rina’s too which featured a cute avatar. They wondered if they came to the arcade to check out a potential spot for a performance. Rina saw this as her chance to change herself and surprised everyone saying she’d perform. Naturally the gang were happy to help.

Rina training her vocals

This screenshot makes sense when you see where it’s from. It’s meant to show how seriously Rina took training. She could get singing and dancing right but her biggest weakness was standing on stage, specifically presenting.

Rina explaining her backstory in detail

Later Rina invited her girlfriend and the main gays to her fancy apartment building to show them what she’d planned for her show. They praised her tech savvy. She explained that because she’d a hard time talking to people she had to play by herself, which is how she got great with technology, but after meeting Miss Ai and joining the SIC she had a lot more fun with other people, something she never thought would happen. Thanks to them she wanted to get better at socializing.

Rina's fear comes back to haunt her

After a lot of training Rina was about ready for the show. Suddenly she noticed her classmates and pumped herself to try befriending them one more time. However, on her way she saw her face in the glass and her fear came bubbling back to the surface. She ran away. Rina didn’t show up for training since. Before we get to the big scene some fun moments.

Emma sees right through Karin

Karin was all like “Rina doesn’t want to come. It’s her decision so let’s leave her be” but her girlfriend saw right through her.

Ai the the rescue

Miss Ai couldn’t take not seeing Rina after she worked so hard for the big day and was like “I have to go. My girl needs me!” and Yu was like “I can use my harem powers to help!”. Everyone tagged along.

Rina terrified

The big scene was hard to watch. As a big Rina fan watching her suffer hurt me. Even as I typed this I shed a tear.

Ai wants to be Rina's heroine

Of course the gang were all there for her. A cute moment as they praised Rina for all her talents had Miss Ai going “Aw come on you guys! Stop praising her! I wanna be her heroine!”

Rina, The Mask's origin

As she thanked everyone for their support they commented on it being the first time she opened up to them all like this. As she got up with the cardboard box she borrowed from Snake still on she had a revelation.

This doods and peeps, was The Mask’s origin story.

Rina, The Mask's debut

Look at her. LOOK AT HER!

I freakin’ love Nijigasaki! I freakin’ love Rina! I freakin’ love The Mask and her performance!

Next time my dear sister’s #1 Hype Girl gets the spotlight. Should be another great one.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Love Live! Nijigasaki Episode 6: The Mask

  1. Rory says:

    My most anticipated episode, and it delivered!
    No doubt about it, Rina is my favourite of the Nijigasaki girls, with Setsuna coming a very close second.
    The build-up to the reveal of the Rina-chan Board was perfect, and Rina’s song was a delight to hear, too. Got to love Ai being the one who wants to support Rina the most.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Little Viktoria says:

    Such an adorable cutie! I love shy taciturn girls. Currently in my top three with Kasumi and Setsuna. And Yu got to use her harem power again… ^^

    Liked by 2 people

  3. opaco1234 says:

    Oh, the curious fact about Rinna is that her stoic expression is natural and not because she is a cold kuudere since she is sociable and understandable, to resolve her expression issue she use emoticons that is very good detail, is good to give her Ai as her partner since hey are opposed poles

    Liked by 1 person

    • OG-Man says:

      Rina hasn’t shown an ounce of “kuudere-ness” since her debut. She’s an angel with a single expression for the most part. Time and the SIC, especially Miss Ai, will surely help her grow stronger.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Mauron says:

    Very shy with serious RBF? Gamer with technology skills? Most relatable Love Live! girl.

    I have a sudden urge to order Mask cartoon DVDs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dakimomoe says:

    I also have a serious RBF and I could relate immensely with her struggle. Rina’s PV is my favorite so far! She’s such a unique type of idol, I’m really digging the emoticon mask.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nick says:

    More or less said everything I wanted to in my review, but this was a very good ep and possibly even the best one yet.

    Rina is super cute and I want to support her all the way now on her idol journey.

    Looking forward to Kanata next week!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. K says:

    “The Mask: Origins” more or less.

    Rina might be unable to be very expressive naturally but with Ai and the others, she’ll be A-okay.

    I know Ai was disappointed that she didn’t get to tell Rina all the cool things everyone else said but she’s with Rina all the time so cut ’em some slack ;-).

    Liked by 2 people

  8. yurimylove says:

    There were speculation before the anime started as to whether Rina would remain masked all the time. I’m glad that isn’t the case, and we get to see her cute face, though expressionless but cute nonetheless. Plus the story is much more believable this way.

    Like

Leave a comment