Love Live! Nijigasaki Episode 1: The Third Generation

The actual translated title is “Love Live! Nijigasaki High School Idol Club” but for the sake of simplicity let’s shorten it to Nijigasaki. Been super pumped for this show since the surprise Fall premiere trailer so let’s see how strong of a start the 3rd Generation had.

Ayu-Bun

We began with our two leads, Ayumu and Yu, (aka the invisible avatar in Love Live! School Idol Festival All-Stars) out shopping. Lots of flirting from Yu.

Note: Yu is spelled with one “u”, not the usual two.

Bunny Ayumu

Precious bunny Ayumu. Yu yearned to see Ayumu unleash her cuteness as she did long ago but Ayumu kind of brushed it off. More flirting as the two ate snacks when they heard a nearby crowd.

Setsuna idol

It was Setsuna about to perform but something felt off about her.

Yu's life changing face

This expression confirmed to longtime Love Live! fans which of the two was the real main protagonist. To me, of the three “school idols changed my life forever” main protagonist moments Yu had the best one so far. We shall see in the near future how the 4th Generation protagonist gives it a go. ANYWAY, only two words best express my thoughts on Setsuna’s performance:

“Holy shit”.

Nijigasaki School Idol Club Poster

It wasn’t noticeable at all during the performance but we saw why Setsuna felt a bit off personally. It was because she’s the only one there. Her fellow NHSIC members, Kasumi, Kanata, Emma and Shizuku were nowhere to be seen.

Yu with her hair down

Yu with her hair down. We see that not only are Ayumu and Yu childhood sweethearts but next door neighbors too. After the awesomeness the day prior Yu wanted to join the School Idol Club with Ayumu. The latter didn’t seem as enthusiastic. The school was as massive as an international airport so finding the club proved quite difficult. Then the two bumped into “OG Hype Girl #1”.

Rina

Rina, or as I like to call her, The Mask. Still surprised she debuted unmasked but my excitement for her character episode remains at an all time high. After a glorious long pause (Longtime fans know how much I love them in anime) we met “OG Hype Girl #2”.

Ai

Ai. I know certain fans hope she hooks up with “OG Hype Girl #3” but personally rooting for Gyaru X Mask. Ai directed our sweet duo to the SIC room.

Nana Nakagawa

Before our heroines could knock on the SIC door they were stopped by the seitokaichou, Nana Nakegawa. She looked awfully familiar. It doesn’t take a genius to figure it out but let’s wait and see how the anime eventually reveals the truth. Yu was ready to meet Setsuna but Nana shocked the two by saying “the club is disbanded as of today”.

Shizuku

As the sun set we met the other soon to be “New Club” members. First up was Shizuku. After the club disbandment she focused more of her time on the Drama Club but deep down her heart still yearned for idol goodness.

Kanata

Next was Kanata. With club activities over she could spend more time sleeping after class but she too hadn’t forgotten the idol goodness.

Emma and Karin

Emma and “OG Hype Girl #3” Karin. Emma was bummed about the disbandment too. While Karin wasn’t a club member she was happy to help Emma regain some idol goodness.

Kasumi

Lastly we have Kasumi. She was hurt the most by the disbandment and refused to give up on the club.

Yu explains her sudden interest in idols

Back to our sweet duo. Ayumu said it was bummer the club was disbanded while Yu pretended to not be very upset despite her hype earlier. She then explained why she wanted to join, to find her dream. She had no idea what to do in the future so she hoped that by helping someone find greatness she would find it too. She was like “Oh well” but Ayumu couldn’t stop thinking about her words.

Ayumu and Yu have a moment

Ayumu opens up to Yu. She confesses to being as hyped as Yu by Setsuna’s killer performance and wanting to become an idol too. She wanted to rekindle her love of wearing cute clothes and hoped Yu would watch and support her. Yu of course would be with her forever. It’s WAY MORE ROMANTIC than I am typing here.

Ayumu performance

Another excellent performance. That’s my one word summary on my impression of the premiere, excellent. I am ready for more Nijigasaki.

Next time Kasumi goes to war with the seitokai for the honor of the SIC.

About OG-Man

Yuri and Slice of Life are my anime passion.
This entry was posted in Episodic Anime posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Love Live! Nijigasaki Episode 1: The Third Generation

  1. Little Viktoria says:

    It seems that I love all the Kasumis on sight this season. Bobcut + red eyes + cute voice + adorable face + fiery temper = perfect package ^^

    And that romantic, gentle vibe of Yu and Ayumu… beautiful!

    This season is turning into such fireworks, with the first episode of Senyoku no Sigrdrifa today as well (definitely watch it, it’s glorious and the girls are so lovely, especially Azuzu)… and now I see that Sport Climbing Girls episode 1 appeared too. I was already going to go to sleep, but I guess I’m off to watch that one too ^^

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I shared many of your thoughts and feelings as I watched this episode. I swear every iteration of the LL franchise gets gayer. Ayumu and Yu are so adorable and total sweethearts. I love to see it. Looks like we’ll have an interesting cast as usual, so I’m pumped for that. Setsuna’s performance though…that was epic! I was instantly smitten just like Yu tbh. She’s amazing. Also, that school is so cool! I wish I could’ve gone to such a modern, technologically advanced school as that in HS. Can’t wait for more.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Oh heck yes. Yu’s expression said it best. Setsuna’s performance was incredible!

      Ayumu X Yu already won my heart. Hope we see many more moments of them being lovey-dovey.

      Such a cool school, yes.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. chikorita157 says:

    It’s kind of interesting that Yuu and Ayumu are more than just best friends. Even in the first half, Yuu tasted Ayumu’s bun. It’s obvious what that is. But still, the premise should be interesting since this iteration isn’t going for saving the school plot line again.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      The yuri comeback of the year in Japan. The US had some bangers no doubt but Japan’s back in the saddle again of glorious gayness.

      Quite right. Nijigasaki High looks WAY TOO FINANCIALLY ADVANCED to require saving.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. LuzeP says:

    This is so good! I love every minute of it. Yu and Ayumu are so cute together. So happy we have love confession at the very beginning. Ayumu wants Yu to look at her first before ogling another girl. The animation is beautiful. I like all the songs. Especially Setsuna’s performance. Mind blowing. I won’t be surprised if there was a plane in that school. So huge. Rina’s long pause was so funny. She doesn’t look shy. Just stared at them. I’ll restrain myself from talking about the rest of the group until next week. My most hype girl is Kanata tho. Can’t wait for more.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      Yu and Ayumu already proving to be an excellent couple. Top 10 of 2020 worthy.

      Setsuna’s performance was jaw dropping.

      I’m so excited to learn more about Rina!

      Ah yes. I know how pumped you are for Kanata. She too is lovely.

      Like

  5. This was not created by Sakurako Kimino so it is considered a spin-off

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nick says:

    So much to love here and by far this is my favorite premiere of this season, so far at least. I’ve got a lot to say about this but I’ve still got my own review to write so I’ll save the majority of my thoughts for that, but this was just a fantastic ep through and through and the moment it was over I felt like watching it again, just so good.

    I’ve got such a great feeling about Nijigasaki and I can feel myself getting back into the Love Live vibe once more. So, so good!

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      A fantastic premiere without a doubt.

      We have a double dose of Nijigasaki this year and whenever the 2nd cour airs along with the 4th Generation coming soon. It’s a great time to be a Love Live fans (Unless you are one of those “loyal to only one group” people).

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Somebody says:

    If I’m being honest I’ve never really cared for the love live music always just the story for me. I mean it’s not like it’s bad but nothing I would go listen to again.(Bang dream is far superior on the music front IMO). But that Setsuna performance…just unbelievable. Lol I never go back to rewatch performances and just amazing. If that’s what we have to look forward to I am excited. Also the yuri is off the charts. Yu is shaping up be my favorite love live protag yet (yes I know it’s too early to tell…though I doubt anyone will top you as my favorite love live character. If only we could get a sequel of you and chika’s lovely yuri filled college years….).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Rory says:

    Ah, it’s so good to have Love Live! back again!
    Absolutely love Setsuna’s song “CHASE!”, so it was a delight to have it be the first song played in the anime. Yu’s experience pretty much summed up what it was like hearing it for the first time.
    Looking forward to seeing more of the all the girls, but it is the inevitable Rina episode I am most looking forward to.
    I also love how it only took around two minutes for the yuri to kick in. Yu and Ayumu are so good together.
    A most excellent premiere.

    Liked by 2 people

    • OG-Man says:

      It was a mind blowing performance so Yu echoed a lot of people.

      Rina is #1 hype girl for sure.

      Love Live were like “Re:Stage and Lapis Re:LiGHTs had their spotlight but it’s time for the OG yuri idol franchise to reclaim the throne.”

      Liked by 1 person

  9. cirno9fan says:

    Too bad Funi didn’t sub Ayumu’s song, it was a really beautiful one ;_; You miss a lot of the point of it if you can’t understand what’s being said. that wasn’t just a throwaway “let’s sell the CDs!” insert song.

    Setsuna’s performance was literally fire, and they have definitely upgrade the CG

    Really interestingly different sort of premiere, and Yu is quite the odd choice for a MC given how the series has been thus far. But It’s not a bad choice, just very different.

    Very excited to see where things go! I have no shipping preferences at the moment, it’s too early.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. As someone who hasn’t played the game much (damn phone memory) I was really looking forward to this show so I can get to know the Nijigasaki girls more.
    So far its a solid episode. I love the CHASE performance! I loved the song when it first came out, Setsuna is my favorite of the nine, so that really put a smile to my face.

    This season is just like christmas to me. Strike Witches, Love Live…

    Liked by 2 people

  11. K says:

    What a nice premiere. It’ gonna be a treat to get to know these girls.

    While Yu was the one bitten by the School Idol bug first, it was Ayumu that suggested they start/revive the School Idol Club in a beautiful fashion. As much as Yu got hooked on listening to School Idols, I don’t think she would have started her own group.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. yurimylove says:

    Yes go for the cute pink dress :-D. You hardly see girls wear pink nowadays (at least in the US). It’s such a pretty color. Great 1st episode! i hope the yuri vibes keep up the whole season.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Ioni says:

    Wait ! What happened ? Why the school is the Tokyo Big Sight converted ?

    Like

Leave a comment